It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Communication & Media Studies: Videos & Multimedia
The field of communications is defined as the theories and techniques used to convey meaning to others. It includes film, television, radio, journalism, advertising, public relations, digital design, semiotics, linguistics, and social media.
Streaming video quality is affected by copyright restrictions, bandwidth capacity, Zoom/Google meeting settings, and personal computer configurations. Many problems have been reported with online synchronous in-class viewing.
Ask students to view the film or film segments independently, with separate authentication, in a dedicated window with Zoom audio muted. (Please follow the browser recommendations in the database descriptions.)
Provide a time for the students to return to the main Zoom class meeting for discussion after the segments have been viewed independently.
Some professors prefer that students watch the piece in its entirety before the start of class and then share a link to a short segment during the class for a second viewing.
Most streaming video platforms provide persistent links to share content with students via chat or Blackboard page. Share using the database-provided link-generating tools, not by copying and pasting a URL from your browser's address bar.
Reference librarians & staff are available to assist with your planning process. Please email your subject liaisons for help as you prepare for your class.
For technical support with Zoom or Google Meet, please reach out to IT Customer Care at: 718-817-3999 OR helpIT@fordham.edu OR the Tech Help tab in my.fordham.edu
NOTICE: BROADWAY HD COLLECTION DISCONTINUED AS OF 12/31/20.
More than 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas and curated for the educational experience. DO NOT USE THE TOGGLE ICON TO CHANGE CHANNELS. ACCESS ONLY TO ACADEMIC VIDEO ONLINE CHANNEL.
On ProQuest's platform. CBS News 60 MINUTES offers unprecedented access to transcripts and nearly 500 hours of video from 1997–2014. 60 MINUTES is among the most respected TV journalism programs in the world.
Thousands of videos of movies, documentaries, foreign films and more. RECORDS NOT IN CATALOG. PLEASE CHECK CURRENT AVAILABILITY OF YOUR SELECTED VIDEO. ACQUISITION IS LIMITED TO FORDHAM FACULTY. SELECT THE VIDEO THEN COMPLETE THE POP-UP FORM USING FORDHAM EMAIL. YOU WILL BE NOTIFIED WHEN THE VIDEO IS AVAILABLE. STUDENTS, PLEASE ASK YOUR PROFESSOR TO REQUEST THE FILM THROUGH THIS KANOPY LINK. CLICK ON MORE BEFORE USING:
CURRENT PROBLEM REPORTED WITH USING FIREFOX. CHROME AND OPERA WORKING NORMALLY.
AVOID USING MAC w/FIREFOX FOR ALL STREAMING VIDEOS (NEEDS SEPARATE FLASH DOWNLOAD).
DO NOT USE INTERNET EXPLORER See also our new streaming video database, Academic Video Online, located on the A tab and Videos & Multimedia tab.
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. A rich core collection of archival movies which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
Provides a suite of online audio recordings to support the teaching of American musical traditions including country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B and more.
Delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. Contains important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and others.
Online archive of public and private programming featuring the world’s foremost writers, intellectuals, and artists in candid and often heated discourse about the most relevant cultural and political issues of our times.