Research Guides @ Fordham: American History: Begin Here

Study of History at Fordham

Fordham American Studies Department
The Fordham American Studies Department offers majors and minors.
American Studies Association (ASA)
The professional association for American Studies.

Related Research Guides

Gardner, A., photographer. (1865) Abraham Lincoln, seated and holding a book, with his son Tad Thomas leaning on a table. , 1865. [Feb. 5] [Photograph] Retrieved from the Library of Congress, https://www.loc.gov/item/2009630691/.

Print and Electronic Reference Sources

Search the Library Catalog to locate print and electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, handbooks, etc.

There are reference sources focusing on most:

time periods (Gilded Age, Jacksonian era etc.)
social movements (Civil Rights, Green etc.)
events (Great Depression, War of 1812 etc.)
issues (slavery, arms control etc.)
diplomacy (United States-China Relations etc.) in U.S. History.

Search the catalog using the terms historical dictionary, encyclopedia, almanac, handbook, etc. along with the specific topic in the Words or Phrases field.

Select Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of American Studies by American Studies Association
Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2021.
Electronic resource; authentication is required.
Keywords for American Cultural Studies, Third Edition by Bruce Burgett and Glenn Hendler (Editors)
Call Number: (RH) PE1449 .K49 2020
New York : New York University Press, 2020.
Also available electronically; authentication is required.

Credo Reference - Academic Core This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and handbooks.
Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Online access to encyclopedias, reference works, and other ebooks covering a wide range of topics.

American Studies Reference

American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Lives of over over 19,000 deceased Americans, published by Oxford University Press.
American Presidency Project This link opens in a new window
Non-profit and non-partisan database of presidential documents, recordings and videos dealing with current and historical information on American presidents from 1789 to present.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American History. Problems have been reported with Chrome. For best results, use Firefox or Edge.
Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
Now on the main ProQuest platform, C19 Index is the bibliographic spine of 19th century research, providing integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archives.
Salem History This link opens in a new window
Salem Press Reference Series online including The Reference Shelf, The Decades--Twenties through Nineties, Great Events, Great Lives, Milestone Documents, Encyclopedia of American Immigration.

Liaison

Jeannie Hoag

Contact:

Rose Hill Campus
Walsh Family Library, Room 127
jhoag@fordham.edu

718-817-3555

Subjects: Library & Information Science

Liaison

David Vassar

Contact:

Lincoln Center Campus
Quinn Library
Room 201
Vassar@fordham.edu

212-636-6052

Subjects: Library & Information Science

American History: Begin Here

Welcome

Study of History at Fordham

Related Research Guides

Print and Electronic Reference Sources

American Studies Reference

Liaison

Liaison

Reference & Instruction Department