Research Guides @ Fordham: American History: Maps

Select Online Map Collections

Library of Congress Collection of Maps
Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States
Digital Scholarship Lab, University of Richmond
The National Map
Resources of the US Geological Survey including Historical Topographical Map Collection (from 1884) and the National Atlas which includes a map builder feature.
Old Maps Online
Gateway to digitized historic maps in libraries around the world. Search for maps by geographic location and limit by date.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Collection of digitized historical maps from the University of Texas Libraries.
David Rumsey Map Collection
Large digital collection of 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America.
New York Public Library Digital Maps and Atlases

Atlases

Search the Library Catalog for maps and atlases of the Americas.

Select atlases at the library include:

Atlas of American History by Gary B. Nash
Call Number: (RH) E179.5 .N37 2007
New York, NY: Facts on File, 2007.
Historical Atlas of the United States: With Original Maps by Derek Hayes
Call Number: (RH) Atlas G1201.S1 H4 2007
Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 2007.
The Civil War: The Story of the War With Maps by M. David Detweiler
Call Number: (RH) E468.D46 2014
Mechanicsburg, PA: Stackpole Books, 2014.
Historical Atlas of Political Parties in the United States Congress, 1789-1989 by Kenneth C. Martis
Call Number: (RH) Atlas G1201 F9 M25 1989
New York, NY: Macmillan, 1989.
An Atlas and Survey of Latin American History by Michael LaRosa
New York, NY : Routledge, 2019.
Electronic resource; authentication is required.
Picturing America: The Golden Age of Pictorial Maps by Stephen J. Hornsby
Call Number: (RH) + G1201.A5 H67 2017
Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press, 2017.

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries

Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)