Skip to Main Content

Irish Studies: Beginning Research

This guide provides an overview of selected Irish Studies resources at Fordham as well as open access web resources.

Beginning Research with Reference Sources

Welcome to the Irish Studies research guide at Fordham University Libraries. This guide is designed to provide an overview of resources available at Fordham covering Ireland and the Irish diaspora in the U.S.

Please contact one of the librarians listed on this page if you need help or would like to schedule a one-on-one consultation.

Ireland - Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Historical Dictionary of Ireland by Andrew McCarthy
Scarecrow Press, 2014.
Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture by James S. Donnelly
Macmillan Reference USA, 2004
[RH Reference Area] DA912 .E53 2004 V.1 & V. 2
The Oxford Companion to Irish History by S. J. Connolly (Editor)
Publication Date: 2002-05-02

Oxford University Press, 2002.
[RH & LC Reference Area] DA912 .O94 2002
Medieval Ireland : An Encyclopedia by Seán Duffy (Editor)
Routledge, 2005.
Call number [RH Reference Area] DA933 .M43 2005

Irish America - Encyclopedias

The Encyclopedia of the Irish in America by Michael Glazier (Editor)
Call Number [RH Reference Area] + E184.I6 E53 1999
North Bend, IN: University of Notre Dame Press, 1999.
Ireland and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History by James P. Byrnes; Philip Coleman; Jason King (editors)
ABC-CLIO, 2008.
Call number [RH Reference Area] E18.75 .I74 2008

Reference Databases

Cambridge Histories Online
A globally respected reference collection of over 400 volumes spanning the humanities and social sciences covering political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.
Bibliography of British and Irish History
A comprehensive guide to books and articles about Britain, Ireland and the British overseas written from the Roman period to the present day. Online "Help Pack"
Dictionary of Irish Biography
A collaborative project between Cambridge University Press and the Royal Irish Academy creating a comprehensive and authoritative biographical dictionary documenting over 10,000 lives ranging from the earliest times to 2010.
Credo Reference - Academic Core
Full text of hundreds of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and handbooks. Covers diverse subjects and all key academic disciplines

Atlases

Atlas of the Irish Revolution by John Crowley; Donal Ó Drisceoil; Mike Murphy; John Borgonovo (editor)
New York University Press, 2017.
Call number RH Reference Area DA962 .A7855 2017
Atlas of the Great Irish Famine by John Crowley, William J. Smyth, Mike Murphy (editors)
New York University Press, 2012.
Call number [RH Reference Area] DA950.7 .A85 2012

Demographics & Data

Central Statistics Office - Republic of Ireland
National statistical office collecting data about Ireland’s people, society and economy.
Northern Ireland Statistics and Research Agency (NISRA)
An agency of the Department of Finance serving as the principal source of official statistics and social research on Northern Ireland.
DATA.GOV.IE
Republic of Ireland's open data portal.
Open Data NI
Data portal developed by the Open Data Team as part of the Digital NI Initiative.

Citation Guidance for MLA & Chicago

Chicago Manual of Style Online - Access Ends 10/31/2025 | NYPL Remote Access Available
Provides online access to the Chicago Manual of Style in a searchable format.

Purdue OWL - MLA
Provides guidance on MLA style.

Library Liaison to Irish Studies

Tierney Gleason

she/her/hers

Contact:

Rose Hill Campus | Walsh Family Library | Room 129
tgleason11@fordham.edu

718.817.3574

Subjects: Anthropology, Archaeology, & Sociology, Communication & Media Studies (Film & TV), Ethnic, Regional, & Cultural Studies, Fashion Studies, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History (American), History (World), Humanitarian Studies, Law, Library & Information Science, Political Science & Government, Religion & Theology, Urban Studies, Visual & Performing Arts (Music, Dance, Theater)

Library Liaison to Irish Studies

Mike Magilligan

Contact:

Lincoln Center Campus
The Gerald M. Quinn Library
Room 201

mmagilligan@fordham.edu

212-636-7548

Subjects: Business, Economics, Ethnic, Regional, & Cultural Studies, Library & Information Science, Political Science & Government, Science & Technology (General), Visual & Performing Arts (Music, Dance, Theater)

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries

Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)