Research Guides @ Fordham: American History: Images

Photographs

JSTOR & ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of academic journals in full text from v.1: n.1. Primary source materials include 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. All Open Content, Journal Collections, and Reports are available to Fordham users. Artstor database of visual media is now accessible from the JSTOR platform.
Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets

Archive of Early American Images - John Carter Brown Library
Nearly 7,000 images of colonial North and South America.
Library of Congress - Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
More than 1.2 million digitized images including photograph, cartoons, posters, drawings and prints.
New York City Municipal Archives Online Gallery
Collection of over 870,000 photographs and other images from 35 NYC agencies including mayors, WPA photos and historic map collection.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Over half a million digital images of NYPL visual holdings - posters, prints, dust jackets, maps, photographs, etc.
Schoenberg Center for Electronic Text & Image
Collection of over 12,000 images from various collections of rare books, manuscripts, papyri, photographs and sheet music from University of Pennsylvania.

Videos

Looking for films?

Our streaming databases should be your first stop. Check out the full list via our Databases guide.

Additional film resources:

American Archive of Public Broadcasting
Historic programs of public radio and television; a collaboration between the Library of Congress and Boston's WGBH.
American Indian Film Gallery
". . . presently contains over 450 non-fiction films that document Native lifeways from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego with a large concentration of peoples of the Southwest . . ."
Library of Congress Moving Image Research Center
Library of Congress National Screening Room
Moving image collection of the Library of Congress.
Folkstreams
Films by independent film makers about American folk cultures.

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries

Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)