Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
Diverse primary source materials from books, newspapers and periodicals with views of American history and culture during the 19th century. Eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records are available in a user-friendly online environment.
America: History & Life
Database includes abstracts of articles from over 2400 journals and citations for book reviews and dissertations since 1964 relating to the full range of U.S. and Canadian history and culture.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5
Search together all series of the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection. Includes digital access to thousands of periodicals from 1684 through 1912. Subjects covered reach into every facet of American life.
American Periodicals (ProQuest)
Full text of over 1,100 journals and magazines both scholarly and popular published from 1740 to 1900.
EBSCOhost Databases List
Collection of full text and bibliographic databases covering every area of academic study. Mobile users will be automatically recognized.
History Vault: American Politics and Society from JFK to Watergate, 1960-1975
Key archival materials consisting of digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon presidencies taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.
History Vault: Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975
Primary source materials highlighting U.S. international relations from the early days of the Kennedy administration, through the escalation of the war during the Johnson administration, to the final resolution of the war at the Paris Peace Talks.
Humanities International Index
Comprehensive database covering over 1700 journals, books and other important reference sources.
JSTOR (EXPANDED COLLECTIONS & JOURNALS) - ENDS 6/30/22
Collection of full text academic journals from volume 1, number 1. Narrow your search to American Studies (116 titles) or History (316 titles).
Periodicals Index Online (ProQuest Platform)
Index to thousands of journals - 245 in History - The Americas.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Full text of hundreds of academic journals including current issues. Limit search by selecting History from the list at the right.
ProQuest Legislative Insight
Covers full text, primary source Congressional legislative history. Includes all enacted and related bills, Congressional Record excerpts, and related committee documents. All of these publication types can be used in court to determine the intent of Congress in enacting legislation in cases where the statutory language is ambiguous. Presidential signing statements are also included.
ProQuest Research Library
Full text of articles on broad range of subjects since 1971
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
From HeinOnline, covers slavery in the U.S. and the English-speaking world. Includes content from the Buffalo Erie County Public Library. Includes every state and federal statute, legal commentary, pamphlets and books from the 19th century, and other hard to find materials such as essays and articles in obscure journals. Provides word searchable access to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880. Must Register for an Account.
U.S. History (Gale In Context)
Includes scholarly content on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. history.
Dissertations in History
Directory of HISTORY Dissertations
List of thousands of dissertations that were completed or are currently in progress at 200 academic departments in Canada and the U.S. compiled by American Historical Association.
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
firstname.lastname@example.org ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)