Research Guides @ Fordham: Communication & Media Studies: Articles & Databases

Finding Articles in Databases

Library databases may contain a combination of peer-reviewed articles as well as reports, book or film reviews, opinion pieces, datasets, images, videos, archival content, and more. This page highlights resources for finding scholarly articles within databases.

Unsure about the different kinds of articles? Popular versus scholarly? Peer-reviewed articles? Trade journals? Try this short tutorial from the library covering Articles & Databases to learn more or refresh your memory.

Looking for film reviews or articles from newspapers or magazines? Try the resources on the News & Magazines page.

If you are unsure about how to find something you need, feel free to Ask a Librarian to point you in the right direction.

Selected Electronic Journals

The library may own one journal in multiple formats (electronic, print, and microform). For a more comprehensive list of our journal holdings, please search the library catalog.

Finding Full Text Journals & Periodicals
Watch this video to learn how to search for specific journals in the library catalog.

Selected Journals in Communication & Media Studies

Find Library Access to a specific publication

Search the Library Catalog to determine which database contains the full text of a publication, newspaper, journal, or other periodical.

Screenshot of a periodical title search in the library catalog.

Try searching with the Browse or Exact option (not Keyword):

Screenshot of a periodical record in the library catalog:

Screenshot of the list of databases that provide full text access to that periodical, including dates:

Communications Research Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Index with full text of hundreds of academic and trade journals in communication and mass media.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index of full-text and bibliographic coverage of hundreds of publications on film and television with links to full text.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Offers coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Offers a collection of full-text journals with the definitive index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Full text of almost 500 scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.
Pop Culture (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
LLBA abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.

Communication & Media Studies: Articles & Databases

Finding Articles in Databases

Selected Electronic Journals

Find Library Access to a specific publication

Communications Research Databases

Reference & Instruction Department