Research Guides @ Fordham: Business Research: Home

Books On The Subject Of Business Research

Management Research: Applying the Principles of Business Research Methods by Susan Rose
Abingdon, Oxon; London, England; New York, NY
Routledge, 2024.
The AI Revolution: Driving Business Innovation and Research (Vol. 2) by Bahaa Awwad (Editor)
Cham
Springer, 2024.
Research Methodologies for Business Management by Vanessa Ratten
London, England; New York, NY Routledge, Taylor and Francis Group, 2023.
Business Research an Illustrative Guide to Practical Methodological Applications in Selected Case Studies by Pieter Willem Buys (Editor)
Singapore, Asia
Palgrave Macmillan, 2023
Essentials of Business Research Methods by Joe Hair Jr.
New York, NY
Routledge, 2023.
Making Sense of Business Reference: A Guide for Librarians and Research Professionals, 2nd ed. by Celia Ross
Chicago : ALA Editions, 2020.
Strauss's Handbook of Business Information: A Guide for Librarians, Students, and Researchers, 4th Edition by Hal P. Kirkwood
Santa Barbara, California : Libraries Unlimited, ABC-CLIO, LLC, [2020]
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Business and Management Research Methods (Electronic Resource) by Cassell, Catherine
London, England
Sage Publications, 2019

Financials in Commercial Databases

Most business databases provide financial information (that they obtained from the SEC). You should consider the supplemental content provided by a database when selecting information. Strategic business units (SBUs) are often reflected in the company's organizational structure or financial information.

Examine the footnotes of financial records.
Some databases provide tools that make it easier to compare companies with different fiscal years or currencies.
Databases may also help you identify similar companies based on various criteria.
Some databases provide more comprehensive financial information than others (additional ratios or breakdowns).
Some business information providers hire analysts to create reports and projections based on their research.
Some databases have AI-generated reports and projections.
Some databases make it easier to download and manipulate financial data for use in spreadsheets, graphs, charts, and other data tools.
Some databases have assistive technology embedded in the database to make the information provided more accessible.

A Partial List of Library databases that provide company financial information.

ABI/INFORM Collection

On ProQuest's platform. Comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Business Insights: Gale Business Insights

Research and analyze worldwide companies and industries. Extensive reference content from scholarly journals, news, market research reports, market share reporter, SWOT reports and more.
Business Searching Interface

Designed for business research, users can cross-search EBSCO business-related databases, including Business Source Complete, EconLit, Regional Business News, Newswire, and relevant ebooks. This interface also includes country economic data, company profiles, and case studies.
Mergent Market Atlas
Replaces Mergent Online (discontinued 6/30/25). Does not include Investext (discontinued) or supply chain tab. Comprehensive global company database. Includes deep current and historical financial and industry information with report building. Includes news, competitors, and much more.
Nexis Uni (AI add-on 7/1/25 - 6/30/26)

Major U.S. and world news , legal and business sources. SEC filings, U.S. and State legal cases, Supreme Court decisions back to 1790, D&B and Hoover's Company Reports. Shephard's, Patents, and more. Features include alerts, saved searches, article summarizations, exportable charts, citation management tools, and collaborative workspace with share folders and annotated documents. Click on FIND A SOURCE or SOURCES to locate and access journals/newspapers.
Nexis+AI - Jumpstart your research by asking questions and retrieving summarized responses across 13K approved global news and business sources with hypertext links.
FOR BEST RESULTS: CREATE ACCOUNT (ONLY FROM ON CAMPUS) & LOG IN; TURN OFF POP UP BLOCKERS.

A user will be able to download 250 titles/headlines from the search results list at a time. Checking the box next to each search result allows users to download the full document. The system will allow downloading of 100 documents or 1,000 pages at a time. There are no overall total download limits.
S&P Global NetAdvantage
Broad spectrum of industry and company analysis including S&P Industry Surveys, S&P Equity Research, and new “Markets” tab with drill downs to industry and sub-industry key ratios, benchmarks, constituents.

Public - Private - EDGAR - The SEC

In the United States, a public company is legally required to submit its financials to the United States Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) in order to trade stock.

The SEC maintains a database of those financial records and makes them available for free to the public. The database is called EDGAR.

Private companies are not required to submit financials to the SEC, so their financials will be much more difficult to find.

EDGAR (SEC database)
This a the link to the EDGAR database.
The SEC website
This is a link to the SEC website.

Business Reference Librarian

Mike Magilligan

Contact:

Lincoln Center Campus
The Gerald M. Quinn Library
Room 201

mmagilligan@fordham.edu

212-636-7548

Subjects: Business, Economics, Ethnic, Regional, & Cultural Studies, Library & Information Science, Political Science & Government, Science & Technology (General), Visual & Performing Arts (Music, Dance, Theater)

Head of Reference & Information Services

Jane Suda

she/her

Contact:

Rose Hill Campus
Walsh Family Library
Room 128

jsuda@fordham.edu

718-817-3587

Subjects: Business, Classics, Communication & Media Studies (Film & TV), Ethnic, Regional, & Cultural Studies, Fashion Studies, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History (American), History (World), Language & Literature, Law, Library & Information Science, Medicine & Health, Psychology & Psychiatry, Religion & Theology, Urban Studies

Gabelli Only Research Guides

Gabelli Only Databases
Contact GabelliIT@fordham.edu OR your professor if assistance is needed.
Gabelli Residency Project
This guide highlights resources recommended for the Gabelli Summer Residency.
Gabelli Sophomore Consulting Challenge (CCIP)
This guide has been created for students enrolled in the Gabelli Sophomore Consulting Challenge course. It is designed to supplement the submission assignment handouts and course blackboard content.