Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles & Databases in Urban Studies
- The primary avenue for finding finding articles on a topic in periodicals (journals, magazines, newspapers) is through databases.
- Library databases may contain a combination of peer-reviewed articles as well as reports, book reviews, opinion pieces, datasets, images, videos, archival content, and more.
Since Urban Studies is interdisciplinary, this page holds selected databases from a range of disciplines. The full list of databases by subject is here. If you are unsure about how to find something you need, feel free to ask a librarian to point you in the right direction.
A selection of journals covering Urban Studies available at Fordham. This list is not definitive; be sure to check the catalog for desired journals.
This section lists information about finding specific periodicals at Fordham Libraries.
Searching Periodicals (Video)
Part of the Library Instructional Bibliographic Series, this video will show you how to look up newspapers, magazines, and journals individually at Fordham University Libraries.
Dissertations & Theses Global
The world's most comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering nearly 5 million citations and 2.6 million full-text works from thousands of universities.
SAGE Research Methods Online
Explore research methods and concepts to help design research projects. Can be used across many disciplines. Use Chrome or Firefox for best results.
Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
ProQuest Research Library
Multidisciplinary database with full text access to a wide range of subjects since 1971.
JSTOR (EXPANDED COLLECTIONS & JOURNALS) - ENDS 6/30/22
Full text archive of academic journals across disciplines. Advanced search option allows narrowing by subject areas including Urban Studies, Sociology, Transportation Studies, Population Studies, and more.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Full text of hundreds of journals including current issues. No access to books. Additional features available with the creation of a personal account. This database applies non-standard use of Boolean operators. Consult a Fordham Librarian for search support.
Not finding the information you need?
Chat live with a librarian to get some help.
America: History & Life
Index to history of U.S. and Canada comprising nearly 2,000 journals since 1910.
Abstracts for hundreds of journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding U.S. and Canada).
HeinOnline Law Library
Contains a wide range of legal resources including: Supreme Court cases, law-related periodicals and books, codes, opinions and more.
LegalTrac (Gale OneFile)
Provides indexing and selective full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers
Environmental Studies - Gale In Context (formerly GREENR)
Comprehensive resource on environmental topics that includes news, commentary, documents, conference reports, statistics, audio, video, images. Updated daily.
Indexing and abstracts of over 384,000 items on the human impact to the environment, as well as open access full text for nearly 5000.
Hundreds of environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. Some full text.
SocIndex with Full Text
Comprehensive index to the literature on sociology including journals, books, and conference papers.
Social Science Database
Offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines.
Business & Economics
Full text of articles from hundreds of leading business journals.
Business Source Complete
Full text for thousands of journals and other sources covering business, economics, etc.
Index to world-wide economics literature from 1886 to present.
Politics & Public Policy
Political Science Complete
Provides full text for more than 500 journals, and indexing and abstracts for almost 3,000 titles. Also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
Policy File Index
Online access to public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers.
Includes Archive 1923-Present. A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on political and social-policy issues that study the evolution of various topics over time.
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
firstname.lastname@example.org ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)