Skip to Main Content

Urban Studies: Finding Books

Finding Books at Fordham University Libraries

The page contains information about how to search for books at Fordham University Libraries along with links to library services.

OneSearch & Library Catalogs

There are multiple ways you can search for print & electronic books at Fordham:

► OneSearch aggregates books Fordham owns plus some articles from databases. It also includes bibliographic records for content that Fordham does not own.

 

► Library Catalog

The new Library Catalog is still being refined.

  • At the moment, using a browser connector associated with bibliographic software like Zotero or EndNote is limited. Try ingesting bibliographic records from OneSearch or the Classic Library Catalog instead.

 

Classic Library Catalog

Find the Classic Library Catalog by pulling down the Collections menu > Classic Library Catalog:

Decorative

Library of Congress Subject Headings for Urban Studies

Feel free to copy and paste these Library of Congress Subject Headings into the catalog to search for books.

subject search example

City planning--New York (State)--New York

City planning--Environmental aspects

City planning--Technological innovations

City and town life--Europe--History

Cities and towns

Cities and towns, Medieval--Europe

Cities and towns--Technological innovations

Community development, Urban

Discrimination in housing--United States

Gentrification

Gentrification--New York (State)--New York

Housing policy--New York (State)--New York

Housing policy--United States

Land use, Urban--United States

Low-income housing--United States

Real property

Recycling (Waste, etc.)

Sociology, urban

Sustainable urban development
 
Transportation--Planning
 
Urbanization

Requesting Book Chapters & Print Journal Articles

WorldCat / OCLC FirstSearch

Find items outside of Fordham with WorldCat / OCLC FirstSearch, a platform searching across the largest network of library collections around the world.

InterLibrary Loan

Borrowing books or accessing articles that are not available at any of the Fordham University Libraries requires assistance from Interlibrary Loan.

Resources at Other Libraries

Research Help

Click on the box below to open a live chat with a librarian:

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries


Walsh Library  ♦  Rose Hill Campus  ♦  718-817-3586   
Quinn Library  ♦  Lincoln Center Campus  ♦  212-636-6050   
Fordham Westchester Library  ♦  Fordham Westchester Campus  ♦  914-367-3061 
library@fordham.edu   ♦   text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ 
Ask a Librarian (Chat)