Research Guides @ Fordham: Sociology: Databases/Articles

Best Bet Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Coverage of Annual Review of Sociology from 2006 to the present. For earlier issues (1975-2006) go to JSTOR.
Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Access to over 700 journals on criminal justice topics, including law, law enforcement, homeland security, forensic science and more.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In depth coverage of current issues in government and of global affairs. Common searching platform for both databases, green icon in search results indicates Global Researcher.
SAGE Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 700 journals.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of minority newspapers and magazines since 1990.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Edition) This link opens in a new window
2nd edition of the 26-volume online encyclopedia.
JSTOR & ARTSTOR (WITH AI RESEARCH TOOL - BETA) This link opens in a new window
Full text academic journals from vol. 1, no. 1. Narrow search to Sociology (122 titles).
NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources).Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
JSTOR Subscribed Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets.
ARTSTOR notes:
To go directly to Collections, use the Browse function dropdown (upper right corner) or filtering on the left side after doing a search.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities going back to 1960 with links to full text.
SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index to the literature of sociology including journals, books, and conference papers. Many of the items are in full text.

Legend

The following icons are used in the databases lists:

Limited simultaneous users.

Password required.

Open access content.

Contains multimedia content such as music or video.

Contains statistical data. Contains statistics / data.

Get Articles & Studies

For clinical literature, see Databases/Articles at the top of the guide to find these articles.

Hint:

To find studies, paste this string of terms into an additional search bar in the database you are using:

study OR research OR methodology OR subjects OR data OR results OR findings OR discussion OR conclusion

American Journal of Sociology

Look for articles in one of the most important journals in sociology.

American Journal of Sociology

Current Sociology: Journal

Current Sociology
Premier sociology journal.

OneSearch

OneSearch Discovery

Advanced Search

Specific Electronic Journal

Need Materials from Outside Fordham?

Cannot find items you need for your research?

Materials not owned by Fordham can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Consortia privileges provide you with additional access to other research collections* beyond Fordham’s holdings.

*Check with the library you intend to visit to be sure that in-person access is available at this time.

Document Delivery

Document Delivery Service

The Document Delivery Service allows Fordham University faculty and graduate students to obtain email delivery of journal articles not available electronically through the Fordham databases but which are available in print in the library.

This service was established to allow faculty, and now students, to request and receive research materials with proper copyright clearance via their Fordham email accounts.

Sociology: Databases/Articles