Research Guides @ Fordham: Journalism: Story Ideas &amp; Interview Subjects

Story Ideas & Tip Sheet Resources

The Journalist’s Resource
Curates, summarizes and contextualizes high-quality research on newsy public policy topics. A project of Harvard Kennedy School's Shorenstein Center and the Carnegie-Knight Initiative.
Journalist's Toolbox
Includes a variety of resources for journalists from tip sheets, video tutorials, research tips, and more. Created by Mike Reilley for the Society of Professional Journalists.
ProPublica News Apps
News applications, graphics, databases, and tools from ProPublica.

Look at company & organization websites directly for press releases, media advisories, and tip sheets as well as searching Google.

Unfortunately, Fordham does not have access to NYC Daybook. Try the following free resources for events and story ideas:

AP Planner on Twitter
Highlights of selected upcoming events.
Events from The Official Website of the City of New York
Search by date, borough, and category.
Eventbrite
Search public events by location and event type.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Limit your search to newswires for announcements and advisories.
A user will be able to download 250 titles/headlines from the search results list at a time. Checking the box next to each search result allows users to download the full document. The system will allow downloading of 100 documents or 1,000 pages at a time. There are no overall total download limits.

Additional options include searching Google for events (see Political Events search) or following social media accounts.

Expert Sources from Journalists' Toolbox
List of websites to search from the Society of Professional Journalists.
Expertise Finder
Free resource created for journalists to find experts by subject.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
To find experts or contact information, try the following steps: 1) Select the Advanced Search option 2) Select Company and Financial 3) Select the option for Directories (all) or select a specific directory 4) Enter your search terms and press Search.
A user will be able to download 250 titles/headlines from the search results list at a time. Checking the box next to each search result allows users to download the full document. The system will allow downloading of 100 documents or 1,000 pages at a time. There are no overall total download limits.

ProfNet
Free resource to help journalists search for experts.
Women Also Know History
Database of women or non-binary historians available as media contacts.
Women Also Know Stuff
Database of women political scientists available as media contacts.

Try company, organization, or university websites directly as well.

AtoZdatabases Academic This link opens in a new window
Search for a person or reverse search a phone number with this subscription database.
New York State Directory This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to accessing contact information for public officials, private sector organizations, and individuals who influence public policy in the state of New York.

The Green Book : Official Directory of the City of New York
A critical reference guide for anyone living or working in New York City with detailed listings of contacts within city agencies.

Try company or organization websites directly to find contact information.

Inmate Lookup Services via NYCourts.gov
Provides links to state and federal sources including NY Corrections & Community Supervision, NYC Department of Correction, Federal Bureau of Prisons, ICE Detainee Lookup, VINElink, and Parolee Lookup.

Finding People and Sources Using Social Media
Curated list of free social media search tools from CUNY Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism.

Researching Nonprofits & Foundations
Fordham guide for reaching nonprofit organizations and charitable foundations.