Misinformation and deception are nothing new, but each generation faces challenges in evaluating new forms of media for facts and accuracy. Internet sources, particularly social media, can be especially challenging.
The Library of Congress categorizes fake news as
news stories, disinformation, and hoaxes published online, often through social media, that are deliberately written to attract and mislead readers by exploiting entrenched biases
As consumers of online media, we can combat fake news through close reading and critical analysis.
Click on the Library Catalog tab to search for books within Fordham University Libraries.
Suggested searches:
Fake news
Social media
Disinformation
Online manipulation
Hoaxes
Deepfakes
Deception - social aspects
Truthfulness and falsehood
Denialism
Deception
Fake News: Understanding Media and Misinformation in the Digital Age by 
The Critical Media Literacy Guide: Engaging Media and Transforming Education by 
Media Literacy, Equity, and Justice by 
Fake News in Context by Information Science provides access to scholarly journals and trade publications essential for information professionals and other knowledge workers. The database offers coverage of topics including information infrastructure, metadata architecture, publishing, and more.
Millions of entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts. Access to more than 1,000 videos and animations, and 500,000 contextual visual aids, images, photographs and maps.
Online access to encyclopedias, reference works, and other ebooks covering a wide range of topics. Includes Scribners Writers and Twaynes Authors titles.
Over 300 dictionaries, encyclopedias and subject reference books published by Oxford University Press. Limited to 5 Simultaneous Users.
Please feel free to share this guide with others. Librarians are welcome to use this guide and its contents for educational purposes.
Some content has been adapted from the Indiana University East Fake News LibGuide.
Last updated 9/30/2024.
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)