Research Guides @ Fordham: Journalism: News &amp; Newspapers

Newspapers by Subscription

New York Times (Fordham & The New York Times) This link opens in a new window
Get online access to the New York Times website and app courtesy of the Division of Student Affairs and the Parents Fund.

New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text from 1980 to the present on the ProQuest platform.
New York Times: ProQuest Historical Newspapers with Index This link opens in a new window
Full text of the New York Times for 1851-2017.

New York Daily News
Fordham has access from 1992 to present across many databases.

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Browse issues from 1984 to present via ProQuest. **For online access to the Wall Street Journal website, go to My Apps, scroll to the Utilities & Tools section, and click on the WSJ link. This access option is not managed by Fordham Libraries.**

US Newsstream (Formerly National Newspapers Premier) This link opens in a new window
Most recent U.S. news content, as well as archives back into the 1980s from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, The Wall Street Journal and a large collection of local and regional newspaper.

Newspaper Source (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. & international newspapers. Also contains selective full text for 389 regional U.S. newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text news resource consisting of over 12,800 local, regional, national and international sources (over 7,900 US and 4,900 international sources). Updated daily with content from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, the web, and blogs.

News (Gale OneFile - Includes NY State Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Includes former New York State Newspapers database content. Full text articles from thousands of national, international, state and local English language newspapers published between 1980 and present.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of ethnic and religious newspapers and magazines since 1991.

Full listing of newspaper databases
Includes current and historical newspaper packages available at Fordham.
See New York - Researching guide for more local news options

Fordham Student Newspaper Archives

The Fordham Ram
Digitized issues from 1918-2008.

The Observer
Digitized issues from 1981-2007.

Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic)

To use Nexis Uni, you will need to:

Turn off pop up blockers in your browser.

Create an account once inside the database using your Fordham email. Look towards the top right of the page for a "Sign In | Register" link. This account will allow you to take advantage of additional features.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Major U.S. and world news, business information, U.S. legal information, cases, directories, and more. See Nexis Uni Training Videos to learn how to use the database and search for specific types of content or click the ? in the bottom right corner for help.

Television & Video News Archives

American Archive of Public Broadcasting (AAPB) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 122,000 television and radio items from the last 70+ years contributed by more than 140 public media organizations and archives across the United States.

C-Span Video Library
Find C-SPAN programs through keyword searching, topic links, "Fast Find" links, and selected "On This Day" links.

CBS News 60 MINUTES This link opens in a new window
Offers access to transcripts and nearly 500 hours of video from 1997–2014 via ProQuest.

Vanderbilt TV News Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides news broadcasts from NBC (August 5, 1968 to present) and CNN (1995 to present). Access note: Current material not available until 72 hours after the original broadcast & "Add Clip" feature not available.

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
More than 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas and curated for the educational experience. Includes news programs.

Internet Archive TV News
Uses closed captioning to enable researchers to search, quote and borrow from the Internet Archive’s collection of 500,000+ US TV news broadcasts aired since 2009.

GDELT Television News Visual Explorer
A collaboration between GDELT and the Internet Archive's Television News Archive. Offers Television Explorer and Television AI Explorer digital tools to search television news transcripts and analyze imagery used in broadcasts.

UNifeed
Broadcast-quality video coverage from the United Nations for the past 30 days.

Publication Lookup

Use the short video tutorial below to see if Fordham has access to a particular periodical (newspaper, magazine, journal).

Finding Full Text Journals & Periodicals (Video)
This video will show you how to look up journals, magazines, and newspapers individually at Fordham University Libraries.

Magazines

Selected Popular Magazines:

Search by keyword across multiple magazines by database:

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes trade journals and magazines covering media & news industries as well as scholarly journals.

Readers' Guide Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts to over 400 periodicals since 1983. Includes full text of many articles.

ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles on broad range of subjects since 1971. Includes magazines as well as newspaper and journal content.

The Magazine Rack
A collection of digitized magazines and monthly publications from the Internet Archive.

Lantern -- Media History Digital Library
Features millions of digitized pages of magazines and books from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.

Research Help

Not finding the information you need?

Chat live with a librarian to get some help.

Journalism: News & Newspapers