Research Guides @ Fordham: Journalism: Scholarly Articles &amp; Research

Publication Lookup

Use the short video tutorial below to see if Fordham has access to a particular periodical (newspaper, magazine, journal).

Finding Full Text Journals & Periodicals (Video)
Watch this video to learn how to look up journals, magazines, and newspapers individually from a citation.

Trade Publications

Trade publications are aimed at professionals who work in a particular trade or industry.

The Quill
Publication from the Society of Professional Journalists with articles, special reports, essays, commentary, profiles, news of note, and more.
Nieman Reports
Explores contemporary journalism’s most important challenges and provides a forum for the industry’s leading voices on issues of ethics, values, innovation, and more.

Research Help

Not finding the information you need?

Chat live with a librarian to get some help.

Communication & Media Studies Databases

The easiest way to find multiple articles on a topic is to search by keyword across many publications in a database.

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Index with full text of hundreds of journals and other sources.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subject index covering language and literature dating back to the 1920s with millions of citations from journals, series, and books from the Modern Language Association (MLA).
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index of full-text and bibliographic coverage of hundreds of publications on film and television with links to full text.

See additional Databases on the Communication & Media Studies guide

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
JSTOR & ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of hundreds of academic journals across multiple disciplines in full text.
NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources).Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
JSTOR Subscribed Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets.
ARTSTOR notes:
To go directly to Collections, use the Browse function dropdown (upper right corner) or filtering on the left side after doing a search.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of journals including current issues. No access to books.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles on broad range of subjects since 1971
SAGE Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 700 journals.

Additional Databases & Research Guides

Full Database List
Search through all of Fordham's databases by subject or in alphabetical order to find resources on your topic.
Research Guides List
Search through all of Fordham's library research guides to find resources on your topic.

Research & Reports

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data

OSF Preprint Archive
Search through more than 2 million preprint papers in architecture, business, engineering, life sciences, physical sciences and math, art and humanities, education, law, medicine and health sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.
Digital Commons Network
Free access to full-text scholarly articles and other research from selected universities and colleges worldwide.
Social Science Research Network
SSRN offers preprint papers in social sciences, humanities, applied sciences, health sciences, life sciences, and physical sciences.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Includes Archive 1923-Present. A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on political and social-policy issues that study the evolution of various topics over time.
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Online access to public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, etc.

IssueLab by Candid
Open access search of nonprofit reports.

Journalism: Scholarly Articles & Research

Databases