Research Guides @ Fordham: Journalism: Using Images, Audio &amp; Stock Footage

General Copyright Resources

Copyright Resources
Guide from Fordham Libraries covering fair use, public domain, Creative Commons, and more.
Fair Use Checklist from Fordham University Libraries
Use this checklist to assess your case for fair use in a digital project. Be sure to keep this document in your project files for documentation.
Creative Commons Licenses
Explains the three layers of each Creative Commons license and how they work.
Best Practices for Attribution from Creative Commons
CC-licensed materials can be used as long as the conditions named in the license deed are met along with attribution and linking back to the license deed. This link provides a range of examples modeling proper attribution practices.

Copyright & Journalism

Fair Use Library from The Center for Media & Social Impact (CMSI)
Tools to better understand how to employ fair use (the right to use copyrighted material without permission or payment) under specific circumstances.

Creative Commons Image & Attribution

This image demonstrates how to format a CC compliant attribution:

"Journalist`s office from above" by Nenad Stojkovic licensed under CC BY 2.0.

Source Verification

Verifying Photos and Videos
Tips for verifying images and video from First Draft Coalition.

Open Images, Audio, and Video

Try the following resources to find images, stock photos, music, and video footage for multimedia projects.

Creative Commons Search
Searches various websites and digital collections holding images licensed under Creative Commons.
Free Music Archive
A collection of free & royalty-free music offered under Creative Commons licenses.
Gender Spectrum Collection
A stock photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models.
Internet Archive Stock Footage
Stock video footage submitted by Internet Archive users.
Nappy.co
Stock photos of Black and Brown people offered under a CC0 license.
Noun Project
Largest collection of digital icons offered through Creative Commons licenses or fees. Also includes stock photos.
Pixabay
A community of creatives sharing copyright free images, videos, and music.
StockSnap.io
Free stock photos offered under CC0 licenses.

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries

Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)