Journalism: Search Tips & Tricks

It is difficult to know how underlying code, algorithms, and/or overall organization impact the ability to search a database or electronic resource. The following resources offer options to help understand databases and how to construct a search:

• Database Search Tips from MIT Libraries 

• Boolean search strategy tutorials:
  • How Library Stuff Works: Boolean Operators from McMaster Libraries
  • How Library Stuff Works: Boolean Modifiers from McMaster Libraries

• If available, explore any of the tutorials or search tips provided by at database

General Google Searches 

• Google Advanced Search provides additional fields to construct a more targeted search of Google's index.

• Check out Google's tips for refining web searches.

• Google's search capabilities can be used to search the contents of a website.
  • Try the Google Advanced Search form
  • Or follow these steps in Chrome:
    • Go to the address bar and type site search: [the url of the website you want to search] press the space bar then type your search terms and press Enter.
    • Here is a sample search of the Fordham website for references to "public media":

• Create a Google alert for topics you are researching and receive notifications.

Specific Searches

• Looking for datasets? Try Google Dataset Search.

• Google Scholar is preferred when searching for experts or academic  research. It enables users to click on author links, see articles that cited an article, related articles, alternate versions, and full text access links (if available) on the right side.

• Google Scholar can include full text links to library content if you set up library links. To add Fordham, New York Public Library, or other options, try the following:
  • Go to Google Scholar search page.
  • Click on the menu button  and then click  Settings.
  • Select Library links from the panel on the left.
  • Next, search for Fordham University and add the two available options. You may add up to five libraries where you have access privileges.

Trying to access a webpage that is no longer online? Looking for historical versions of websites? Try the following web archives: