Research Guides @ Fordham: Nordic Literature, Language, News, and Film: Home

Some Electronic Resources - Nordic/Scandinavian

Nordlit
Nordlit is an Open Access journal, published by the Department of Culture and Literature at the Faculty of Humanities, Social Sciences and Education of the University of Tromsø.
Nordic Theatre Studies
Published by the departments of Theatre and Dance Studies
and Musicology & Performance Studies at Stockholm University, Nordic Theatre Studies focuses on all aspects of Nordic and Baltic theatre.

Scandinavian Books Scandinavian Books is a site focused on Scandinavian literature - both fiction and crime fiction - and movies. Books by Scandinavian authors in a number of genres, and also news about Scandinavian literature and movies.
History of Nordic women's literature An excellent site for research on Nordic women authors with hundreds of bio-biographies, articles, and news.

Litteraturbanken
The literature bank makes available Swedish fiction and other texts of importance to our understanding of the literary cultural heritage. Everything is freely available to readers and researchers, teachers and students, students and libraries. Everything is readable and searchable on the site, but close to thousands of titles can also be saved to readers and cell phones from the website or library directories (via Libris ).
Icelandic Authors
The Reykjavík City Library Literature Web has now merged with the Reykjavík City of Literature website, under this domain, bokmenntaborgin.is or cityofliterature.is. Information on over 130 Icelandic authors, their bios, bibliographies and more can be found under “Authors and Books”; the other headings contain other fine things.
Scandinavian Studies Journal - Project MUSE
Scandinavian Studies is interested in the cultures of the Nordic countries: Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden. Founded in 1911, the Society for the Advancement of Scandinavian Study (the supporting organization) has as its objectives:
more...less...
The promotion of Scandinavian study and instruction in America;
The encouragement of original research in this country in the fields of Scandinavian languages, literatures, history, culture, and society and the publication of the results of such research in the quarterly journal Scandinavian Studies;
The fostering of closer relations between persons interested in Scandinavian studies in North America and elsewhere.

Useful Databases for Literature and Film

Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Literature reference database. Includes information on literary figures from all time periods writing in all genres; thousands of overviews of literary works; thousands of author portraits; Access to numerous literary journals; some literary criticism (see Literature Criticism Online for comprehensive coverage).Content is selective; Not all full volumes; Click on the title list to see Fordham holdings.
JSTOR & ARTSTOR (WITH AI RESEARCH TOOL - BETA) This link opens in a new window
NEW AI RESEARCH TOOL (BETA) Hundreds of academic journals in full text from v.1: n.1. Primary source materials include 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. Artstor database of visual media is now accessible from the JSTOR platform. NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources). To use the new AI Research Tool, first select a subscribed journal article, Open Access book chapter, or research report.
NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources).Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
JSTOR Subscribed Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets.
ARTSTOR notes:
To go directly to Collections, use the Browse function dropdown (upper right corner) or filtering on the left side after doing a search.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index of full-text and bibliographic coverage of hundreds of publications on film and television with links to full text.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
A bibliographical resource offering coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present. Many of the key titles are available in full text, including complete runs.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg offers over 45,000 e-books available for download or to be read online.

Nobel Prize in Literature - Nordic Winners

Links to Wikipedia...

Denmark

Finland

Frans Eemil Sillanpää, born in the Grand Duchy of Finland, a part of the Russian Empire in 1809–1917, 1939

Iceland

Halldór Kiljan Laxness, 1955

Norway

Sweden

More Scandinvian Societies

Scandinavia circa 1715

Homann Map of Scandinavia, Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Finland and the Baltics. Johann Baptist Homann (1664 – 1724) was a German geographer and cartographer, map dated around 1715.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_Scandinavia (added 10/26/2018)

World Digital Library: The WDL provides free access to significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. See:
   Denmark
   Finland
   Iceland
   Norway
   Sweden

Greenland

Fordham Library Catalog

Search catalog for books, ebooks, periodicals, government documents, videos, maps etc. held by Fordham at all campuses.

National Libraries - Archives - Bibliographies - Union Catalogs

Search these NATIONAL LIBRARIES for unique special collections and digital collections in addition to books, media, etc.

National and University Library of Iceland Catalog - Leitir.is
The Icelandic union catalog provides access to the collections of the National and University Library of Iceland.
National Library of Denmark Catalog - REX
Library catalog for the Royal Library (incl. National Library of Denmark and Copenhagen University Library)
National Library of Finland Catalog Search
Search collections of the National Library of Finland.
Norwegian National Library Catalog - Oria
Search engine for Norwegian National Library and academic libraries' resources, books, articles, journals, music, films and electronic resources etc.
Swedish National Library Catalog - Regina
National Library’s online catalog for printed material and electronic publications. Also find manuscripts, maps, pictures, printed music and ephemera.
Search NATIONAL ARCHIVES for access to historical records and registries significant to historical and genealogical research.
Search NATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHIES which contain millions of references to articles, books, and other materials published in the Nordic countries, about the Nordic countries, or by Nordic authors abroad.

Danish National Bibliography

Finnish National Bibliography - Fennica

Icelandic National Bibliography

Norwegian National Bibliography

Swedish National Bibliography
Also includes periodicals, maps, newspapers, and parts of monograph and report series.

Search UNION CATALOGS which combine the catalogs of various academic, public, and specialized libraries for each of the Nordic countries.

Danish union catalog - bibliotekDK
Portal for all Danish libraries: public, specialized and academic. Find records of all items published in Denmark and all items found in Danish public and research libraries.

Finnish union catalog - Melinda
Union catalog of Finnish libraries containing information about materials in all university libraries, most libraries under the Ministry of Education and Culture, the Library of Parliament, the National Repository Library, and the city libraries of Tampere and Kokkola.

Icelandic union catalog - Leitir.is
Provides access to a broad range of scientific, educational and entertainment material, including information on books, journals and articles, e-books, audio books, music, photographs, theses, visual materials, websites, archeological finds and objects.

Norwegian union catalog - Biblioteksøk
Search books, electronic publications, audiobooks, sheet music and more from nationwide Norwegian libraries.

Swedish union catalog - LIBRIS
Joint catalog of Swedish academic and research libraries. Find information about publications at all university libraries, most research libraries, and some public libraries in Sweden.

(Gratitude to the librarians at the University of Washington for compiling the above resources)

"Nordic" on the Map

https://libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/accounts/4472/images/6e3cd966610c8563b26582db05836b72--scandinavian-countries-scandinavian-people.jpg

More Nordic Studies

Nordic Studies @ The Royal Danish Library - Copenhagen University
Multiple indexes, restricted f/t access, some English translation, with subject librarian contact...
Scandinavica The International Journal of Scandinavian Studies
A quarterly published by the Scandinavian-American Foundation since 1910 with reviews of Nordic literature.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar indexes the full text of a wide array of scholarly literature across many disciplines. Use Advanced Search for more refined results.

WorldCat

WorldCat is the global catalog of library collections containing over 46 million records from libraries in over 65 countries. You can make an InterLibrary Loan request directly from the WorldCat entry for material that Fordham does not own.

Electronic Journals

Help with Call Numbers / Subject Classifications for Nordic related materials

B 4301-4495: Philosophy
BL 830-875: Germanic/Norse Mythology
DL: History
- DL 1-99: Scandinavia (general)
- DL 101-299: Denmark
- DL 301-399: Iceland
- DL 401-599: Norway
- DL 601-999: Sweden
- DL 1002-1180: Finland
GR: Folklore
- GR 200-201.2: Finland
- GR 205-226: Scandinavia
HC: Economic history and conditions
- HC 340.2: Finland
- HC 341-380: Scandinavia
HN: Social history and conditions
- HN 531-535: Finland
- HN 540-580: Scandinavia
HQ: Women and feminism
- HQ 1665.5: Finland
- HQ 1666-1690: Scandinavia
PD 1501-5929: Scandinavian Languages
- PD 1501-1899: Scandinavian (general)
- PD 2001-2093: Prehistoric languages, runic inscriptions
- PD 2201-2293: Old Norse
- PD 2401-2406: Modern Icelandic
- PD 2501-2989: Norwegian
- PD 3001-3929: Danish
- PD 5001-5929: Swedish
PH 101-299: Finnish Language
PH 300-405: Finnish Literature
PT 7001-7099: Scandinavian Literature
- PT 7001-7099: Scandinavian (general)
- PT7013.Th: UW Department of Scandinavian Studies theses & dissertations
- PT 7101-7338: Old Norse
- PT 7351-7550: Modern Icelandic
- PT 7601-8260: Danish
- PT 8301-9155: Norwegian
- PT 9201-9999: Swedish

Nordic Literature LibGuide is dedicated to its originator - Johanna Roed, former staff member of Quinn Library and current Librarian at NYPL Mariners Harbor Library, Staten Island, NY

Subject Guide Librarian

Robert Allen

Contact:

Assistant Director
Fordham University Libraries
Director of Quinn Library
Lincoln Center Campus
Director Westchester Library
(212)636-6058
rallen@fordham.edu

Subjects: Library & Information Science

Librarian

Michael Rios