Research Guides @ Fordham: Nordic Literature, Language, News, and Film: Films by Region

Films by Region

Image from Headhunters - W DVD 13,185 - 1 copy available at Lincoln Center

Nordic Film Journals

16:9 filmtidsskrift
A Danish journal of film studies, with film reviews, interviews, and longer scholarly articles. Material in Danish and English.
Film & Kino årbok
Annual statistical summaries of Norwegian film, cinema, and video. Content in Norwegian.
Film International - Ingenta Connect
Started as Filmhäftet in 1973, which is now published as Film International. The website covers film within its broader cultural context and offers essays, blogs, interviews, reviews, and festival reports. Not peer-reviewed, but edited. Material in English.
Filmmagasinet
Online film magazine including popular articles and reviews. Material in Norwegian.
Kosmorama
A digital version of the print journal with the same name (the print version was stopped in 2011). Lots of content about film (including peer-reviewed articles), produced now biannually on the web. Material in Danish and English.
Lähikuva
A peer-reviewed, open-access, Finnish journal specializing in media culture and media theory. Material in Finnish.ational Film Institutes

Danish Film InstituteThe Danish Film Institute is the national film foundation in Denmark. It works to promote Danish film and cinema culture. The Institute makes around 50 films a year (feature films, documentaries, and shorts). Use this website to find current information about the Danish film industry, Denmark's auteur filmmakers, and Danish film history. Material in Danish and English.

Icelandic Film Centre
This website is the product of a 2003 law in Iceland, stipulating government involvement in the Icelandic film industry. Material found here is centered on promoting Icelandic film internationally, including recent industry news, films in production, and older Icelandic films. The historical material about the Icelandic film industry comes with a digital (updated) version of Peter Cowie's book on Icelandic film. Definitely the most up-to-date material about Icelandic film. Material in English.
KAVI - National Audiovisual Institute (Finland)
KAVI preserves Finland's films, radio and television programming, and related materials. It also disseminates knowledge about audiovisual culture in Finland and promotes media education and children’s media skills.
Norwegian Film Institute
The website of the Norwegian Film Institute, the national executive body for the Norwegian film industry. In addition to reporting current news about Norwegian films, it offers many .pdfs with statistics, catalogs of Norwegian films, as well as information about the history of Norwegian cinema. Material in Norwegian and English.
Swedish Film Institute
The website of Sweden's Film Institute, which works to promote film production, distribution, and screening of Swedish films. This website provides information about current films, research about film, and a wealth of other information. Material in Swedish and English.

National Film Databases

The Nordic countries' film institutes make national film databases available online. These typically include factual data about films, including cast, crew, production, distribution, etc. They may include other features but do not generally provide analysis, scholarship, or film reviews.

Other Resources

Ingmar Bergman
The go-to online resource for information about Ingmar Bergman's life, films, plays, and television productions. Material available in Swedish and English
The Finnish Film Foundation
The Finnish Film Foundation is the national foundation in Finland that supports the Finnish film industry from conception to distribution of films. This website provides information about current films, statistics about film attendance, and some recent historical information about Finnish films. Material in Finnish, Swedish, and English.

Nordic Literature, Language, News, and Film: Films by Region

Films by Region

Nordic Film Journals

National Film Databases

Other Resources

KANOPY - Streaming Video Collection available at Fordham University Library

ProQuest Screen Studies Collection

Reference & Instruction Department