Research Guides @ Fordham: Biological Sciences: Biochemistry

Biochemistry Reference Books

Dictionary of Biochemistry by John Daintith
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] QP512 .F33 2003
New York, NY : Facts on File, 2003
The Extracellular Matrix Factsbook by Shirley Ayad; Ray Boot-Handford; Martin Humphries; Karl Kadler; Adrian Shuttleworth
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] QP552.E95 E96 1998
San Diego, CA : Academic Press, 1998
Gale Encyclopedia of Science by K. Lee Lerner; Brenda Wilmoth Lerner
[Online Resource] Detroit, Michigan : Gale Group, 2008
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by Richard Cammack (Editor); Teresa Atwood; Peter Campbell; Howard Parish; Tony Smith; John Stirling; Frank Vella
[Online Resource] New York, NY : Oxford University Press, 2006
The Transporter Factsbook by Jeffrey Griffith; Clare Sansom
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] QP552.C34 G75 1998
[Also Online Resource] San Diego, CA : Academic Press, 1998

Internet Data Resources

BRENDA (Braunschweig Enzyme Database)
A collection of enzyme functional data for the scientific community. These data are extracted from primary literature written by scientists in Biology and Chemistry.
Chemical Database of Biological Entities (ChEBI)
Freely available dictionary of molecular entities focused on small chemical compounds.
Expasy
The Swiss Bioinformatics Resource Portal, provides access to more than 160 databases and software tools in the life sciences.
RSCB Protein Data Bank
Protein data bank that includes 3D structure data for large biological molecules, including proteins, DNA, and RNA.

Selected Biochemistry Journals

Annual Review of Biochemistry
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 1996 - Present
Chem
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 2016 - 2023
Nature Catalysis
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 2023 - Present
Nature Methods
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 2004 - 1 year ago
Progress in Lipid Research
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 2024 - Present
Trends in Biochemical Sciences
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 1995 - Present

Library of Congress Subject Headings - Biochemistry

Library of Congress Subject Headings for Biochemistry:

Subject Heading: Biochemistry
Broader Terms:
- Biology
- Chemistry
- Medical sciences
Narrower Terms:
- Analytical biochemistry
- Bioaccumulation
- Bioenergetics
- Biosynthesis
- Biothermodynamics
- Cytochemistry
- Enzymology
- Histochemistry
- Ligands (Biochemistry)
- Microbiological chemistry
- Physical biochemistry
- Quantum biochemistry
- Semiochemicals

Note: Not an exhaustive list of search terms. For the complete list, visit the Library of Congress Subject Headings website.

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries

Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)