Research Guides @ Fordham: Biological Sciences: Microbiology

General Microbiology

Encyclopedias and Reference Books

Desk Encyclopedia of Microbiology by Moselio Schaechter (Editor)
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] QR9 .D47 2004
[Also an Online Resource]
Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier/Academic Press, 2004
Encyclopedia of Microbiology by Thomas M. Schmidt (Editor)
[Online Resource]
Academic Press, 2019
Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology by Paul Singleton; Diana Sainsbury
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] QR9 .S56 2001
New York, NY : Wiley, 2001
Understanding Microbes by Jeremy W. Dale
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QR41.2 .D35 2013
Chichester, West Sussex, UK : Wiley-Blackwell, 2013
Microbes and Evolution by Roberto Kolter (Editor); Stanley Maloy (Editor)
[Online Resource]
Washington, DC : ASM Press, 2012

Popular Books on Microbiology

Life's Engines by Paul G. Falkowski
Call Number: QR13 .F35 2015
[Online Resource]
Princeton ; Oxford : Princeton University Press, 2015
Kin by John L. Ingraham
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QR13 .I547 2017
Cambridge, Massachusetts : Harvard University Press, 2017
I Contain Multitudes by Ed Yong
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QR171.A1 Y66 2016
New York, NY : Ecco, an imprint of Harper Collins Publishers, 2016

Societies and Online Resources

The American Society of Microbiology
The ASM has over 30,000 members, including researchers, education, and health professionals. The work to improve global health, support collaborations, and advocate for science to policymakers.
Federation of European Microbiological Societies
FEMS aims to promote excellence and diversity in science by funding research, connecting microbiologists, and partnering with other organizations.
Applied Microbiology International
An international society based in the UK that publishes in the microbiology field.
Microbiology Society
Based in the United Kingdom with a worldwide membership based in universities, industry, hospitals, research institutes and schools. It is the largest learned microbiological society in Europe.
Human Microbiome Project
The Common Fund's Human Microbiome Project (HMP) developed research resources to enable the study of the microbial communities that live in and on our bodies and the roles they play in human health and disease.
Microbial Life Educational Resources (MLER)
Promotes educational materials on the ecology, diversity and evolution of micro-organisms for students, K-12 teachers, university faculty, as well as for the general public.
Access Microbiology
An open research platform that gives the microbiology community an opportunity to disseminate work rapidly. It publishes replication studies, research proposals, data management plans, additions to established methods, case reports, software development, and more.

Plant Microbiology and Mycology

Encyclopedias and Reference Books

Concise Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology by P. Vidhyasekaran
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] SB728 .V525 2004
[Also an Online Resource]
New York : Food Products Press, 2004
Fungal Populations and Species by John Burnett
Call Number: QK602 .B86 2003
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2003

Popular Books on Plant Microbiology and Mycology

Mycophilia by Eugenia Bone
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QK605 .B65 2011
New York : Rodale : Distributed to the trade by Macmillan, 2011
Plankton by Christian Sardet
Online Resource
Chicago ; London : University of Chicago Press, 2015

Societies and Online Resources

Algae Base
AlgaeBase is a database of information on algae that includes terrestrial, marine and freshwater organisms.
American Phytopathological Society
An international scientific organization devoted to the study of phytopathology, promoting the study of plant pathology and plant health management in agricultural, urban and forest settings.
Mycological Society of America
A professional society on mycology that includes members from academic, industrial, medical, governmental, and amateur backgrounds.
North American Mycological Association (NAMA)
A non-profit organization of professional and amateur mycologists aiming to promote educational mycological resources and protect natural habitats.
Phycological Society of America
Founded in 1946 to promote research and teaching in all fields of phycology. The society publishes the Journal of Phycology and the Phycological Newsletter.
Saccharomyces Genome Database
Provides comprehensive integrated biological information for the budding yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae along with search and analysis tools to explore these data.

Food Microbiology

Encyclopedias and Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology by Carl A. Batt (Editor); Tortorello (Editor-In-Chief); Pradip Patel (Editor); Richard K. Robinson (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] QR115 .E53 2014
Amsterdam : Academic Press, 2014
Food Microbiology by Michael P. Doyle; Robert L. Buchanan (Editor)
[Online Resource]
Washington, DC : ASM Press, 2013
Food Safety Culture by Frank Yiannas
[Online Resource]
New York, NY : Springer Science Business Media, LLC, 2009

Popular Books on Food Microbiology and Food Safety

Death in the Pot by Morton Satin
Call Number: [RH Stacks] RC143 .S28 2007
Amherst, N.Y. : Prometheus Books, 2007
Reinventing the Wheel by Bronwen Percival; Francis Percival
[Online Resource]
Oakland, California : University of California Press, 2017

Societies and Online Resources

The FDA's Bacteriological Analytical Manual (BAM)
FDA's Bacteriological Analytical Manual (BAM) presents the agency's preferred laboratory procedures for microbiological analyses of foods and cosmetics.
Predictive Microbiology Information Portal
A joint project of he USDA Food Safety & Inspection Service (FSIS) and the USDA Agricultural Research Service (ARS) . This portal is geared to assist food companies (large and small) in the use of predictive models, the appropriate application of models, and proper model interpretation.
Food Safety and Inspection Services
The Food Safety and Inspection Services (FSIS) is a US Government organization focused on protecting the public's health by ensuring the safety of meat, poulty, and processed eggs.
FoodSafety.gov
Government gateway for information provided by The Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
Institute of Food Technologists (IFT)
A forum for food science professionals and technologists to collaborate, learn, and contribute to connecting global food system communities.

Virology

Dictionaries and Reference Books

The Dictionary of Virology by Brian W. J. Mahy
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] QR358 .M34 2009
Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier/Academic Press, 2009
Virology by Leonard C. Norkin
Call Number: [RH Oversize Stacks] QR360 .N67 2010
Washington, DC : ASM Press, 2010
Plant Virology by Roger Hull
[Online Resource]
Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier/AP, Academic Press is an imprint of Elsevier, 2014
The Springer Index of Viruses by Christian A. Tidona (Editor); Gholamreza Darai (Editor)
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] QR360 .S674 2002
New York : Springer, 2006

Popular Books on Virology and Viruses

Virus Hunt by Dorothy H. Crawford
[Online Resource]
Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2013
On the Trail of Ebola by Guido van der Groen
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QR359.72.G76 A3 2016
Tielt, Belgium : Lannoo Publishers, 2016
A Planet of Viruses by Carl Zimmer
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QR360 .Z65 2015
Chicago ; London : The University of Chicago Press, 2015

Societies and Online Resources

The American Society of Virology
The American Society for Virology (ASV) is an American scientific society serving the community of researchers in virology. The organization was founded in 1981 and was the first scientific society in the world dedicated exclusively to virology.
HIV Databases
The HIV databases contain comprehensive data on HIV genetic sequences and immunological epitopes, and gives access to a large number of tools that can be used to analyze and visualize these data.
Virus Pathogen Resource
Ffunded by NIAID, the Virus Pathogen Resource lets the user search for genomes, genes or proteins, immune epitopes, and 3D protein structures. It also provides analysis tools for finding similar sequences, aligning sequences, and identifying short peptides in proteins.
NCBI Virus
A community portal for viral sequence data with the goal of increasing the usability of data archived in GenBank and other NCBI repositories.

Selected Microbiology Journals

General Microbiology

Cell Host and Microbe
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 2007 - 1 year ago
Nature Microbiology
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 2016 - Present
Trends in Microbiology
Peer Reviewed
Years available; 1995 - 2014

Plant Microbiology and Mycology

Annual Review of Phytopathology
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 1996 - Present
Fungal Diversity
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 2010 - Present
Studies in Mycology
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 2005 - Present

Medical Microbiology

Clinical Microbiology Reviews
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 1988 - 1 year ago
Journal of Clinical Microbiology
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 1975 - 6 months ago

Immunology

Annual Review of Immunology
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 1996 - Present
Immunity
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 1995 - Present
Nature Immunology
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 2000 - 1 year ago
Nature Reviews Immunology
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 2001 - 1 year ago

Epidemiology

Epidemiologic Reviews
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 1996 - Present
International Journal of Epidemiology
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 1996 - Present
MMWR: Recommendations and Reports
CDC Policy Statements and Recommendations
Years available: 1989 - Present
PLoS Pathogens
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 2005 - Present

Bacteriology

Journal of Bacteriology
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 1916 - 6 months ago

Virology

Annual Review of Virology
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 2014 - Present
Journal of Virology
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 1967 - 6 months ago

Food Microbiology

Comprehensive Reviews in Food Science and Food Safety
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 2002 - Present
Food Microbiology
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 1993 - Present

Medical Microbiology, Immunology, and Epidemiology

Atlases, Encyclopedias, and Reference Books

World of Microbiology and Immunology by K. Lee Lerner
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] QR9 .W675 2003
[Also an Online Resource]
Detroit : Gale, 2003
Kuby Immunology by Judy Owen; Jenni Punt; Sharon Stranford
Call Number: [LC Stacks] QR181 .K83 2013
New York : W.H. Freeman and Company, 2013
Encyclopedia of Epidemiology by Sarah E. Boslaugh (Editor)
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] RA652 .E533 2008
[Also an Online Resource]
Los Angeles : Sage Publications, 2008
The Encyclopedia of Infectious Diseases by Carol Turkington; Bonnie Lee Ashby
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] RC112 .T87 2007
New York : Facts On File, 2007

Popular Books on Medical Microbiology

The Beautiful Cure: the revolution in immunology and what it means for your health by Daniel M. Davis
[Online Resource]
Chicago : University of Chicago Press. 2018
Superbugs by William Hall
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QR177 .H35 2018
[Also an Online Resource]
Cambridge, MA : Harvard University Press, 2018
The Ghost Map by Steven Johnson
Call Number: [RH Stacks] RC133.G6 J64 2006
New York : Riverhead Books, 2006

Societies and Online Resources

Center for Disease Control
A United States federal agency, the leading national public health institute of the United States.
World Health Organization
Working with 194 Member States, across six regions, and from more than 150 offices, WHO staff work to bring better health to people around the world.
National Foundation for Infectious Diseases
A non-profit organization dedicated to educating the public and healthcare professionals about the burden, causes, prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of infectious diseases across the lifespan.

National Center for Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
NCHS is part of the Center for Disease Control and Prevention; responsible for collecting vital U.S. health statistics.

Bacteriology

Manuals and Reference Books

Bergey's Manual of Determinative Bacteriology by John G. Holt
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QR81 .A5 1994
Baltimore : Williams & Wilkins, 1994
The Routledge History of Disease by Mark Jackson
[Online Resource]
Routledge, 2016
Practical Bacteriology by Ameer Khusro; J. P. Preetam Raj; P. Agastian; S. Theoder
[Online Resource]
Oxford, UK: Alpha Science International, 2017
Bacteriology of Humans by Michael Wilson
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QR171.A1 W55 2008
Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2008

Popular Books on Bacteriology

Discovering Tuberculosis by Christian W. McMillen
[Online Resource]
New Haven : Yale University Press, 2015
Superbugs by William Hall; Anthony McDonnell; Jim O'Neill
Call Number: QR177 .H35 2018
[RH Stacks] Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2018
Frederick Novy and the Development of Bacteriology in Medicine by Powel H. Kazanjian
[Online Resource]
New Brunswick, New Jersey : Rutgers University Press, 2017
Laboratory Disease by Christoph Gradmann; Elborg Forster (Translator)
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QR46 .G6713 2009
Baltimore : Johns Hopkins University Press, 2009

Societies and Online Resources

Nature - Bacteriology
The Nature hub for bacteriology news and latest research.
Cell Image Library
From the Center for Research in Biological Systems, this image library contains over 10,000 unique datasets and 20 TB of data.

Library of Congress Call Numbers - Microbiology

Library of Congress Call Numbers for Microbiology topics:

QR1-502 - Microbiology

QR1-74.5 - General
QR75-99.5 - Bacteria
QR99.6-99.8 - Cyanobacteria
QR100-130 - Microbial Ecology
QR171 - Microorganisms in the Animal Body
QR180-189.5 - Immunology
QR185.8 - Immune Structures
QR186 - Immune Response
QR186.5-186.6 - Antigens
QR186.7-186.85 - Antibodies, Immunoglobulins
QR187-187.3 - Antigen-Antibody Reactions
QR189-189.5 - Vaccines
QR201 - Pathogenic Micro-Organisms, By Disease, A-Z
QR301-327 - Micro-Organisms of Animals
QR355-502 - Virology

RA648.5-767 - Epidemics. Epidemiology. Quarantine. Disinfection

Biological Sciences: Microbiology

General Microbiology

Plant Microbiology and Mycology

Food Microbiology

Virology

Selected Microbiology Journals

Medical Microbiology, Immunology, and Epidemiology

Bacteriology

Library of Congress Call Numbers - Microbiology

Reference & Instruction Department