Research Guides @ Fordham: Biological Sciences: Ecology

General Ecology

Guides, Encyclopedias, and Reference Books

The Princeton Guide to Ecology by Simon A. Levin (Editor); Stephen R. Carpenter (Editor); H. Charles J. Godfray (Editor); Ann P. Kinzig (Editor); Michel Loreau (Editor); Jonathan B. Losos (Editor); Brian Walker (Editor); David S. Wilcove (Editor)
[Online Resource]
Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, 2012
Encyclopedia of Theoretical Ecology by Alan Hastings (Editor); Louis Gross (Editor)
[Online Resource]
Berkeley : University of California Press, 2012
The Theory of Ecology by Samuel M. Scheiner (Editor); Michael R. Willig (Editor)
ISBN: 9780226736853
[Online Resource]
Chicago ; London : The University of Chicago Press, 2011
What Works in Conservation 2021 by William J. Sutherland (Editor); Lynn V. Dicks (Editor); Silviu O. Silviu (Editor)
[Online Resource]
Open Book Publishers, 2021

Popular Books on Ecology

The Invention of Nature by Andrea Wulf
Call Number: [RH Stacks] Q143.H9 W85 2015
New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2015
Sand County Almanac by Aldo Leopold; Curt Meine (Editor)
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QH81 .L48 2013
New York : Library of America : Distributed by Penguin, 2013

Societies and Online Resources

Ecological Society of America
The Ecological Society of America (ESA) is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization of scientists founded in 1915 to promote ecological science by improving communication among ecologists; raise the public’s level of awareness of the importance of ecological science; increase the resources available for the conduct of ecological science; and ensure the appropriate use of ecological science in environmental decision making by enhancing communication between the ecological community and policy-makers.
SciTable - Ecology
From Nature Education, this resource contains information ranging from the very broad to in-depth topics of specific subjects. A good jumping of point for understanding various aspects of ecology.

Evolutionary and Behavioral Ecology

Reference Books

Evolutionary Ecology by Charles W. Fox (Editor); Derek A. Roff (Editor); Daphne J. Fairbairn (Editor)
[Online Resource]
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2001
Discovering Evolutionary Ecology by Peter J. Mayhew
[Online Resource]
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006
Behaviour, Development and Evolution by Patrick Bateson
[Online Resource]
Cambridge : Open Book Publishers, 2017

Books on Evolutionary and Behavioral Ecology

The Vital Question by Nick Lane
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QH325 .L36 2015
New York : W. W. Norton & Company, 2015
On the Origin of Species by Charles Darwin; Gillian Beer (Editor, Introduction by, Notes by)
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QH365 .O2 2008B
[Also an Online Resource]
New York : Oxford University Press, 2008
The Song of the Dodo by David Quammen
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QH541.5.I8 Q35 1996
New York : Scribner, 1996
The Beak of the Finch by Jonathan Weiner
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QL696.P246 W45 1995
New York : Vintage Books, 1995

Societies and Online Resources

American Society of Naturalists
The American Society of Naturalists is the oldest scientific society dedicated to the study of ecology, evolution, and behavior. The goal of the society is to advance and to diffuse knowledge of organic evolution and other broad biological principles so as to enhance the conceptual unification of the biological sciences.
Animal Behavior Society
The Animal Behavior Society (ABS) is a non-partisan, non-profit, 501(3)(c) professional organization dedicated to promoting and advancing the scientific study of animal behavior. Members of ABS study behavior across all levels of biological organization, under natural and controlled conditions, and using descriptive and experimental approaches.
Association for the Study of Animal Behavior
They promote the study of animal behavior by holding conferences and funding research, as well as encouraging the teaching of animal behavior in schools through their Educational Committee.
International Society for Behavioral Ecology
Established in 1986, the International Society for Behavioral Ecology (ISBE) is a Learned Society run by members of the behavioural ecology research community. It exists to promote the discipline of behavioural ecology, to provide researchers in behavioral ecology with a forum to present and publish their work, exchange views, and get to know each other.
Oxford Bibliographies - Evolutionary Biology
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas.
Society for the Study of Evolution
The Society for the Study of Evolution is a professional organization of evolutionary biologists. It was formed in the United States in 1946 to promote evolution and the integration of various fields of science concerned with evolution and to organize the publication of a scientific journal to report on new research on evolution across a variety of fields.

Conservation Biology and Restoration Ecology

Encyclopedias and Reference Books

Foundations of Restoration Ecology by Donald A. Falk (Editor); Richard J. Hobbs (Foreword by); Margaret Palmer (Editor); Joy B. Zedler (Editor); Margaret A. Palmer (Editor)
[Online Resource]
Washington, D.C. : Island Press, 2006
An Introduction to Methods and Models in Ecology, Evolution, and Conservation Biology by Stanton Braude (Editor); Bobbi S. Low (Editor)
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QH541.2 .I65 2010
Princeton : Princeton University Press, 2010
Primer of Ecological Restoration by Karen Holl
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QH541.15.R45 H64 2020
[Also an Online Resource]
Washington, DC : Island Press, 2020

Books on Conservation Biology and Restoration Ecology

The Sunflower Forest by William R. Jordan
Call Number: QH541.15.R45 J67 2003
[Online Resource]
Berkeley : University of California Press, 2003
Silent Spring & Other Writings on the Environment by Rachel Carson; Sandra Steingraber (Editor)
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QH545.P4 C38 2018
New York, NY: : The Library of America, 2018
Where the Wild Things Were by William Stolzenburg
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QL758 .S746 2008
New York : Bloomsbury : Distributed to the trade by Macmillan, 2008

Societies and Online Resources

Center for Species Survival
The Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute's Center for Species Survival (CSS) is a collaborative group of scientists and animal care professionals that conducts basic and applied research, especially in the fields of reproductive and welfare sciences, and animal and biomaterials management, to understand biological mysteries and implement practical solutions to help rare species survive.
Fordham Conservation Biology Advanced Certificate
With courses in the evenings and on weekends, Fordham’s graduate certificate in conservation biology offers opportunities for exploring conservation biology and urban ecology. Applicants should have completed a BA/BS in biology, or other natural/environmental science, or equivalent coursework.
JSTOR Sustainability Collection
JSTOR Sustainability was built in collaboration with librarians, scholars, and policy researchers, and brings together key journals as well as open research reports from leading think tanks worldwide. The collection looks at sustainability and resilience through a broad lens, and spans more than 30 disciplines.
Society for Conservation Biology
The Society for Conservation Biology (SCB) is a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to facilitating, promoting, and advancing the scientific study and conservation of biological diversity.
Society for Ecological Restoration
The Society for Ecological Restoration is a global community of restoration professionals that includes researchers, practitioners, decision-makers, and community leaders from Africa, Asia, Australia/New Zealand, Europe, and the Americas.
World Wildlife Fund
The world’s leading conservation organization, WWF works in 100 countries and is supported by more than one million members in the United States and close to five million globally. WWF's unique way of working combines global reach with a foundation in science, involves action at every level from local to global, and ensures the delivery of innovative solutions that meet the needs of both people and nature.

Library of Congress Call Numbers - Ecology

Library of Congress Call Numbers for Ecology topics:

GF1-900 - Human ecology. Anthropogeography
- GF51 - Environmental influences on humans
- GF75 - Human influences on the environment
- GF101-127 - Settlements
- GF125 - Cities. Urban geography
- GF127 - Rural settlements. Rural geography
- GF500-900 - By region or country
HT161-165 - Garden cities. "The city beautiful"
HT165.5-169.9 - City planning
HT170-178 - Urban renewal. Urban redevelopment
HT361-384 - Urbanization. City and country
QH540-549.5 - General and Animal Ecology
QK900-989 - Plant Ecology
QR100-130 - Microbial Ecology

Selected Ecology Journals

General Ecology

Ecological Applications
The pages of Ecological Applications are open to research and discussion papers that integrate ecological science and concepts with their application and implications. Of special interest are papers that develop the basic scientific principles on which environmental decision-making should rest, and those that discuss the application of ecological concepts to environmental problem solving, policy, and management.
Years available: 1991 - Present
Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment
Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment, issued 10 times per year, consists of peer-reviewed, synthetic review articles on all aspects of ecology, the environment, and related disciplines, as well as short, high-impact research communications of broad interdisciplinary appeal.
Years available: 2003 - Present
Journal of Applied Ecology
Combines excellent science with relevance to environmental management. Journal of Applied Ecology publishes novel papers that apply ecological concepts, theories, models and methods to the management of biological resources in their widest sense.
Years available: 1964 - Present
Journal of Ecology
Journal of Ecology publishes original research papers on all aspects of the ecology of plants (including algae), in both aquatic and terrestrial ecosystems. They aim to bring important work using any ecological approach (including molecular techniques) to a wide international audience.
Years available: 1913 - Present

Conservation Biology and Restoration Ecology

Conservation Biology
Conservation Biology publishes articles that address the science and practice of conserving Earth's biological diversity.
Years available: 1987 - Present
Global Environmental Change
Global Environmental Change: Human and Policy Dimensions is an international, interdisciplinary journal spanning the social and natural sciences; it publishes high-quality original theoretical and applied research and review articles across the entire field of global environmental change.
Years available: 1995 - Present
Nature Climate Change
In addition to publishing original research, Nature Climate Change provides a forum for discussion among leading experts through the publication of opinion, analysis and review articles. It also highlights the most important developments in the field through Research Highlights and publishes original reporting from renowned science journalists in the form of feature articles.
Years available; 2011 - Present

Evolutionary and Behavioral Ecology

Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics
The Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics, in publication since 1970, covers significant developments in the fields of ecology, evolutionary biology, and systematics, as they apply to all life on Earth.
Years available: 1997 - Present
Behavioral Ecology
Bringing together significant work on all aspects of the subject, Behavioral Ecology is broad-based and covers both empirical and theoretical approaches. Studies on the whole range of behaving organisms, including plants, invertebrates, vertebrates, and humans, are included.
Years available: 2009 - 2014
Trends in Ecology and Evolution
Now the highest-cited journal in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Trends in Ecology & Evolution contains polished, concise and readable reviews, opinions and letters in all areas of ecology and evolutionary science.
Years available: 1995 - Present

Urban Ecology

Cities and the Environment
An open access, peer-reviewed journal publishing work on urban ecology research and urban ecology education.
Years available: 2008 - Present
Journal of Urban Ecology
Journal of Urban Ecology is a scientific journal covering all aspects of urban environments including the ecological and social sciences as well as urban design and planning. This includes the biology of the organisms that inhabit urban areas, human social issues encountered within urban landscapes, the diversity of ecosystem services, and the design of sustainable and resilient cities.
Years available: 2015 - Present

Community, Ecosystem, and Population Ecology

Ecosystems
The scope of ecosystem science extends from bounded systems such as watersheds to spatially complex landscapes, to the Earth itself, and crosses temporal scales from seconds to millennia. Ecosystem science has strong links to other disciplines including landscape ecology, global ecology, biogeochemistry, aquatic ecology, soil science, hydrology, ecological economics and conservation biology.
Years available: 1998 - Present
Population Ecology
Population Ecology publishes original research articles and reviews on various aspects of population ecology, from the individual to the community level. Among the specific fields included are population dynamics and distribution, evolutionary ecology, ecological genetics, theoretical models, conservation biology, agroecosystem studies, and bioresource management.
Years available: 2000 - Present

Community, Ecosystem, and Population Ecology

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Biological Invasions by Daniel Simberloff (Editor); Marcel Rejmánek
Call Number: QH353 .E53 2011
[Online Resource]
Berkeley : University of California Press, 2011
From Populations to Ecosystems by M. Loreau
[Online Resource]
Princeton : Princeton University Press, 2010
Food Webs by Kevin S. McCann
[Online Resource]
Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, 2012
Invasive Species by Daniel Simberloff
[Online Resource]
Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2013

Books on Community, Ecosystem, and Population Ecology

The Hidden Forest by Jon R. Luoma
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QH105.O7 L87 1999
New York : Henry Holt, 1999
The Diversity of Life by Edward O. Wilson; Amy Bartlett Wright (Illustrator); Sarah Landry (Illustrator)
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QH313 .W55 1992
Cambridge, Mass. : Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1992
The Hidden Life of Trees by Peter Wohlleben; Tim Flannery (Foreword by); Jane Billinghurst (Translator)
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QK475 .W59513 2016
Berkeley : Greystone Books Ltd, 2016

Societies and Online Resources

Invasive-Species.org
A website run by CABI, this resource contains information on how to combat and work against invasive species, with a focus on real world problems and solutions.
Invasive Species Compendium
Run by CABI, the Invasive Species Compendium (ISC) is an encyclopedic resource that brings together a wide range of different types of science-based information to support decision-making in invasive species management worldwide.
Global Biodiversity Information Facility
GBIF—the Global Biodiversity Information Facility—is an international network and research infrastructure funded by the world’s governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data about all types of life on Earth.
Smithsonian Environmental Research Center (SERC)
The Smithsonian Environmental Research Center (SERC) provides science-based knowledge to meet the environmental challenges of the 21st century. SERC leads research on coastal ecosystems—where the land meets the sea—to inform real-world decisions for wise policies, best business practices, and a sustainable planet. Users can access SERC's environmental long-term datasets.
Society for Freshwater Science
The Society for Freshwater Science (SFS) is an international scientific organization whose purpose is to promote further understanding of freshwater ecosystems (rivers, streams, lakes, reservoirs, and estuaries) and ecosystems at the interface between aquatic and terrestrial habitats (wetlands, bogs, fens, riparian forests, and grasslands).

Urban Ecology

Handbooks and Reference Books

Advances in Urban Ecology by Marina Alberti
Call Number: [RH Stacks] HT241 .A43 2008
New York ; London : Springer, 2009
The Routledge Handbook of Urban Ecology by Ian Douglas (Editor); David Goode (Editor); Mike Houck (Editor); Rusong Wang (Editor)
Call Number: [RH Stacks] HT241 .R68 2011
Abingdon, Oxon, [England] ; New York : Routledge, 2011
Practical Ecology for Planners, Developers, and Citizens by Dan L. Perlman; Jeffrey C. Milder; Lincoln Institute of Land Policy Staff (Other Primary Creator); Jeffrey Milder
[Online Resource]
Washington, DC: Island Press, 2005

Books on Urban Ecology

Still the Same Hawk by John Waldman (Editor)
Call Number: [RH Stacks] GF504.N7 S75 2013
New York : Empire State Editions, 2013
Green Dream by John Thackara (Text by); Winy Maas (Text by); Ulf Hackauf (Text by); Pirjo Haikola (Text by)
Call Number: [RH Stacks] HT241 .G743 2014
Rotterdam : NAi Publishers, 2014
The Agile City by James S. Russell
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QC903 .R87 2011
Washington, DC : Island Press, 2010
Cities That Think Like Planets by Marina Alberti
[Online Resource]
Seattle; University of Washington Press, 2016

Societies and Online Resources

Ecological Society of America - Urban Ecology Ecosystem Section
The Urban Ecosystem Ecology Section of the Ecological Society of America promotes an understanding of the importance of urban ecosystems among ecologists and members of related disciplines andencourages education and research in urban ecosystem ecology.
Fordham's Center for Urban Ecology (CUE)
The mission of the Center for Urban Ecology (CUE) is to promote individual and collaborative research in integrated fields within ecology, evolution, and conservation, focusing on the effects of urbanization on regional ecosystems and the roles of humans in physiological, ecological, and evolutionary processes.
Society for Conservation Biology - Urban Ecology Working Group
The Urban Ecology Working Group was formed to share ideas and information regarding these issues, and to allow interested SCB members to engage and collaborate on research and projects that can push the needle on urban issues. Listserv sign up information also available.
Society for Urban Ecology (SURE)
The Society for Urban Ecology (SURE) exists to foster and develop knowledge and implementation of urban ecology worldwide by strengthening contacts and enriching the dialogue between researchers and practitioners, by representing the interests of the academic community within the wider international institutional context and by making the collective expertise of SURE available, where appropriate, in furthering the discussion of urban ecological issues.

Biological Sciences: Ecology

General Ecology

Evolutionary and Behavioral Ecology

Conservation Biology and Restoration Ecology

Library of Congress Call Numbers - Ecology

Selected Ecology Journals

Community, Ecosystem, and Population Ecology

Urban Ecology

Reference & Instruction Department