Research Guides @ Fordham: Biological Sciences: Human Anatomy, Physiology, & Pathology

Human Anatomy and Physiology

Atlases and Reference Books

Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy for CPT Coding by American Medical Association (Compiled by)
Online Resource
Newburyport: American Medical Association, 2019
World of Anatomy and Physiology by Gale Research Staff; Kimberley A. McGrath
Call Number: QP11 .W67 2002
Online Resource
Detroit : Thomson/Gale, 2002

Popular Books on Anatomy and Physiology

The Body: A Guide for Occupants by Bill Bryson
Call Number: QM23.2 .B79 2019
New York : Doubleday, 2019
Adventures in Human Being by Gavin Francis
Call Number: QP34.5 .F697 2015
New York : Basic Books, a member of the Perseus Books Group, 2015
The Lady Anatomist by Rebecca Marie Messbarger
Online Resource
Chicago ; London : The University of Chicago Press, 2010

Societies and Online Resources

American Association for Anatomy
The American Association for Anatomy was founded by Joseph Leidy in Washington, D.C. in 1888 for the “advancement of anatomical science.” Today, via research, education, and professional development activities, AAA serves as the professional home for an international community of biomedical researchers and educators focusing on the structural foundation of health and disease.
The American Association of Clinical Anatomists
The AACA was founded to support, promote, and advance anatomically and clinically-based scholarship in research, teaching, and curricular matters within the health science professions. Its annual scientific meeting provides a vital and supportive venue for basic and clinical scientists and educators to disseminate scholarly work of an experimental or descriptive nature in any of the subdisciplines of anatomy or specialties of medicine.
Get Body Smart
An online, interactive platform for studying anatomy and physiology. Covers multiple subject areas and provides quizzes for each system.
Human Body Maps
A free, interactive anatomy program from Healthline that provides access to high-quality medical images. The site includes mouse-over pop-up boxes to identify body parts and provide links to more information.
International Federation of Associations of Anatomists
The International Federation of Associations of Anatomists (IFAA), which was established in 1903, is the professional domicile of Associations of Anatomy from around the globe. It seeks to stimulate friendship and cooperation among members of associations of anatomists and encourages scientific, technological, educational and administrative exchanges among anatomists worldwide.
Martindale's Health Science Guide - Anatomy & Histology Center
Martindale's offers more than 44,800 teaching files, more than 118,000 medical cases, 826 multimedia courses, 1,300 multimedia tutorials, more than 10,250 movies, and 3,120-plus databases. By accessing the "Anatomy &Histology" center, the viewer can see cross-sectional images in order to learn anatomy.

Human Pathology

Encyclopedias and Reference Books

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Paleopathology by Arthur C. Aufderheide; Conrado Rodriguez-Martin; Odin M. Langsjoen (Contribution by)
Call Number: R134.8 .A93 1998
Online Resource
Cambridge, UK ; New York, NY, USA : Cambridge University Press, 1998
The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders by Stacey Blachford (Editor)
Call Number: RB155.5 .G35 2002
Online Resource
Detroit : Gale Group, 2002 (Print Resource)
Farmington Hills, Mich. : Gale, Cengage Learning, 2016 (Online Resource)
Textbook of Pathology by Harsh Mohan
Online Resource
New Delhi : Jaypee Brothers, Medical Publishers, 2014

Popular Books on Pathology

Working Stiff: Two Years, 262 Bodies, and the Making of a Medical Examiner by Judy Melinek; T. J. Mitchell
Call Number: RA1025.M45 A3 2014
New York : Scribner, 2014
More Than Hot by Christopher Hamlin
Online Resouce
Baltimore : Johns Hopkins University Press, 2014

Societies and Online Resources

American Society of Clinical Pathologists
The American Society for Clinical Pathology unites more than 100,000 anatomic and clinical pathologists, medical laboratory professionals, residents and students to accelerate the advancement of laboratory medicine to better improve patient care through knowledge, collaboration, and global community.
American Society of Hematology
With more than 17,000 members from nearly 100 countries, the American Society of Hematology (ASH) is the world's largest professional society serving both clinicians and scientists around the world who are working to conquer blood diseases.
College of American Pathologists
The College of American Pathologists (CAP), the leading organization of board-certified pathologists, serves patients, pathologists, and the public by fostering and advocating excellence in the practice of pathology and laboratory medicine worldwide.
Virtual Pathology at the University of Leeds
The Virtual Pathology team at Leeds is dedicated to high quality digital slide scanning, hosting and research, with the data center currently containing 149.56 terabytes of digital slide data. They have resources for the general public and professionals, with example slides, medical cases, and interactive elements.

Selected Journals

Anatomy

American Journal of Human Biology
The American Journal of Human Biology is a bimonthly, peer-reviewed, internationally circulated journal that publishes reports of original research, theoretical articles and timely reviews, and brief communications in the interdisciplinary field of human biology.
Years available: 1996 - Present
Clinical Anatomy
Clinical Anatomy is the Official Journal of the American Association of Clinical Anatomists and the British Association of Clinical Anatomists . The goal of Clinical Anatomy is to provide a medium for the exchange of current information between anatomists and clinicians.
Years available: 1996 - Present
Journal of Anatomy
Journal of Anatomy publishes original papers, invited review articles and book reviews. Its main focus is on contributions to understanding development, evolution and function through a broad range of anatomical approaches.
Years available: 1916 - Present

Physiology

Annual Review of Physiology
The Annual Review of Physiology, in publication since 1939, covers the significant developments in the field of animal physiology, including cardiovascular physiology; cell physiology; ecological, evolutionary, and comparative physiology; endocrinology; gastrointestinal physiology; neurophysiology; renal and electrolyte physiology; respiratory physiology; and special topics.
Years available: 1996 - Present
Physiological Reviews
Physiological Reviews provides state of the art coverage of timely issues in the physiological and biomedical sciences. It appeals to physiologists, neuroscientists, cell biologists, biophysicists, and clinicians with special interest in pathophysiology. Topics are covered in a broad and comprehensive manner.
Years available: 1921 - Present

Histology

Cell and Tissue Research
The journal publishes regular articles and reviews in the areas of molecular, cell, and supracellular biology. In particular, the journal intends to provide a forum for publishing data that analyze the supracellular, integrative actions of gene products and their impact on the formation of tissue structure and function.
Years available: 1997 - Present
Journal of Histochemistry and Cytochemistry
The Journal of Histochemistry and Cytochemistry publishes significant advances in visual techniques that provide biochemical and molecular information about the structure and function of cells, tissues, and organs. In addition to novel primary data papers, timely review articles on all aspects of cell biology are encouraged.
Years available: 2011 - 2015

Pathology

Annual Review of Pathology: Mechanisms of Disease
The Annual Review of Pathology: Mechanisms of Disease, in publication since 2006, covers significant advances in our understanding of the initiation and progression of important human diseases. Emphasis is placed on current and evolving concepts of disease pathogenesis, molecular genetic and morphologic alterations associated with diseases, and clinical significance.
Years available: 2006 - Present
Histopathology
Histopathology is an international journal intended to be of practical value to surgical and diagnostic histopathologists, and to investigators of human disease who employ histopathological methods.
Years available: 1997 - Present
Journal of Pathology
The Journal of Pathology aims to serve as a bridge between basic biomedical science and clinical medicine with particular emphasis on morphologically based studies. The main interests of the Journal lie in understanding the pathophysiological and pathogenetic mechanisms of human disease.
Years available: 1996 - Present
Modern Pathology
Modern Pathology is an international journal of the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology (USCAP). Modern Pathology concentrates on all aspects of diagnostic human pathology, contemporary issues pertinent to diagnostic accuracy, reviews, illustrative cases, Academy news and clinical medicine directly related to pathology practice.
Years available: 2000 - 1 year ago

Histology

Atlases and Reference Books

Atlas of Histology with Functional Correlations by Victor P. Eroschenko
Call Number: QM557 .F56 2008
Philadelphia : Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams and Wilkins, 2008
A Learning System in Histology by Deborah W. Vaughan
Online Resource
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2002

Societies and Online Resources

Duke Medicine Histology Slide Collection
A collection of slides on various histology topics presented by Duke's medical school. A useful resource for practice identifying the various types of cells in the body.
Histology Helper
A YouTube channel dedicated to creating videos about various aspects of histology. Created by an MD student.
National Society of Histotechnology
The National Society for Histotechnology is a professional organization for individuals actively engaged in the histology field. Since its founding over 40 years ago, NSH's member community has grown to include over 3,000 histology professionals from around the world. Though much has changed, our mission has stayed the same; to empower the profession of histotechnology through collaboration, education and innovation.

Library of Congress Call Numbers - Human Anatomy and Physiology

Library of Congress Call Numbers for Human Anatomy and Physiology topics:

QM1-695 - Human Anatomy

QM1-511 - General
- QM33.4-39 - Dissection
- QM101-117 - The Skeleton, Osteology
- QM131-142 - The Articulations, Joints
- QM151-170 - Muscles
- QM178-197 - Vascular System
- QM251-265 - Organs of Respiration and Voice
- QM301-367 - Organs of Digestion
- QM368-371 - Glands
- QM401-421 - Urinary and Reproductive Organs
- QM451-471 - Nervous System
- QM481-495 - Integument
- QM501-511 - Sense Organs
QM531-549 - Regional Anatomy
QM550-577.8 - Human and Comparative Histology
QM601-695 - Human Embryology

QP1-981 - Physiology

QP1-345 - General (including influence of the environment)
- QP34-38 - Human Physiology - General Works

RB1-214 - Pathology

RB1-17 - General works
RB24-33 - Pathological anatomy and histology
RB37-56.5 - Clinical pathology. Laboratory technique
RB57 - Post-mortem examination. Autopsies
RB127-150 - Manifestations of disease
RB151-214 - Theories of disease. Etiology. Pathogenesis

Biological Sciences: Human Anatomy, Physiology, & Pathology

Human Anatomy and Physiology

Human Pathology

Selected Journals

Histology

Library of Congress Call Numbers - Human Anatomy and Physiology

Reference & Instruction Department