Research Guides @ Fordham: Biological Sciences: Databases

Biology Databases

Biodiversity Heritage Library
Digitized books, journals, images and collections from a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries creating a global “biodiversity commons” of significant biodiversity materials. Includes the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life.
Biological Science Database
On ProQuest's platform. Provides access to a wide range of biology topics, including some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government, and public research environments.

BioRxiv
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.

BioMed Central BMC
Several hundred peer-reviewed open access journals covering Science, Technology and Medicine subject areas from Springer Science+Business Media.
Encyclopedia of Life
Descriptions of every species known to science with a list of references to books and articles.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Wiley Online Library. Thousands of articles on biological sciences.
Environmental Studies - Gale In Context (formerly GREENR)
Comprehensive resource on environmental topics that includes news, commentary, documents, conference reports, statistics, audio, video, images. Updated daily.
Environment Complete
Hundreds of environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. Some full text.
GreenFILE
Indexing and abstracts of over 384,000 items on the human impact to the environment, as well as full text for nearly 5,000.
International Encyclopedia of Biological Anthropology
This title features over 450 entries contributed by an international team of scholars and represents the first comprehensive encyclopedic reference relating to biological anthropology.
National Agricultural Library SEARCH
SEARCH is the USDA National Agricultural Library's main search tool. It provides simple, one-stop access to more than 8 million records covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
A resource providing access to biomedical and genomic information created by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.

Library Services

ILLiad
Open an account with Interlibrary Loan to request access to books, articles, book chapters, etc. that Fordham does not own.
Document Delivery Request Form
If you would like a scan of a book chapter or a journal article in our print collection emailed to you, fill out the form linked above.
WorldCat
OCLC's subscription-based platform for precision searching of WorldCat. Offers robust options to search by title, author, subject heading, format, publisher, publication city, and more.

Multi-Disciplinary Science Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines with millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text.
Annual Reviews
Full text of Annual Reviews on subscription, mostly in the sciences. No access to Economics and Computer Science titles.
ArXiv archive
A full-text, open archive and distribution server for theoretical and applied scientific research papers. Hosted by Cornell University. Coverage 1991 to the present.
Elsevier ScienceDirect Journals
Full text of subscribed journals and four collections - Business, Management and Accounting, Economics and Econometrics, Psychology, and Social Sciences.
Nature Journal
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology.
Public Library of Science (PLOS)
A non-profit organization dedicated to making scientific literature freely available by publishing a suite of influential Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine. Includes submission of papers that have been shared
as preprints.
Royal Society Open Science
Open journal with high-quality peer-reviewed original research. Covers the entire range of science and mathematics. See new section called "Science, Society, and Policy" for published work that sits at the interface of Science, Society, and Policy.
Science Database
On ProQuest's platform. A definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. Provides access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements vital to scientific and technical literature.
Scopus
Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Health Science, and Arts & Humanities going back to 1960.
Wiley Online Library - All Journals Database
Access to most Wiley Journals, from 1996/1997 to Present. Click on the journal title for specific years of access. Email parliman@fordham.edu for TDM information.

Taxonomy Collections and Databases

These databases provide taxonomic information in biological sciences.

Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS)
Contains authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.
Linneaen Collections
From the collection of Carl Linnaeus, the "Father of Modern Taxonomy." Includes historic resources on insect, plant, fish, and shell taxonomies. Also includes correspondence, manuscripts, and dissertations.
National Invasive Species Information Center (NISIC)
From the National Library of Agriculture, a reference resource providing profile information, organizations, and services about invasive species.

Biological Sciences: Databases

Biology Databases

Library Services

Multi-Disciplinary Science Databases

Taxonomy Collections and Databases

Reference & Instruction Department