Research Guides @ Fordham: Biological Sciences: Zoology

General Zoology

Encyclopedias and Reference Books

The Encyclopedia of Animals by George McKay (Editor); Fred Cooke; Stephen Hutchinson; Hugh Dingle; Richard Vogt
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] QL7 .E53 2004
Berkeley : University of California Press, 2004
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia by Gale Research Staff; Michael Hutchins
[Online Resource]
Detroit, MI : Gale, 2011
Animal Behavior Desk Reference by Edward M. Barrows
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] QL750.3 .B37 2001
Boca Raton, Fla. : CRC Press, 2001

Popular Books on Zoology

The Sixth Extinction by Elizabeth Kolbert
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] QE721.2.E97 K65 2014
New York, New York : Henry Holt and Company, 2014
King Solomon's Ring by Konrad Lorenz; Julian Huxley (Foreword by)
[Online Resource]
London ; New York : Routledge, 2002
Where Do Camels Belong?: The Story and Science of Invasive Species by Ken Thompson
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QH353 .T46 2014
Vancouver, BC; Berkeley, CA : Greystone Books, 2014

Societies and Online Resources

American Society of Animal Science
A membership society that supports the careers of scientists and animal producers in the United States and internationally.
Animal Diversity Web
An online encyclopedia and database of animal natural history, contributed to by photographers, biologists, and students. This is a University of Michigan project.
Center for Biological Diversity
National U.S. group using science, law and creative media to protect the lands, waters and climate that species need to survive.
Global Biodiversity Information Facility
An international network and research infrastructure funded by world governments, dedicated to providing open access to data about all types of life on earth.

Mammalogy

Encyclopedias and Reference Books

Mammal Species of the World by Don E. Wilson (Editor); DeeAnn M. Reeder (Editor)
Call Number: [RH Reference Area ] QL708 .M35 2005
[Also an Online Resource]
Baltimore : Johns Hopkins University Press, 2005
Walker's Mammals of the World by Ronald M. Nowak
[Online Resource]
Baltimore : Johns Hopkins University Press, 2018
The Rise of Marine Mammals by Annalisa Berta; James L. Sumich (Illustrator)
[Online Resource]
Baltimore : Johns Hopkins University Press, 2017

Popular Books on Mammals

Chimpanzee Memoirs by Lydia Hopper
[Online Resource]
New York, NY : Columbia University Press, 2022
The Lion in the Living Room by Abigail Tucker
Call Number: [RH Stacks] SF442.6 .T83 2016
New York : Simon & Schuster, 2016

Societies and Online Resources

The American Museum of Natural History Mammalogy Department
The AMNH Department of Mammalogy houses over 275,000 specimens and has a searchable database.
The American Society of Mammologists
Professional society involved in providing information for public policy, resources management, conservation, and education about mammals.
The Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History Mammal Collections
The Division of Mammals, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution, houses and maintains the world's largest mammal collection with over 600,000 specimens.
Society for Marine Mammalogy
Non-profit society intending to promote global advancements in marine mammal science and contribute to its relevance and impact in education, conservation, and management.

Entomology

Guides, Encyclopedias, and Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Insects by Vincent H. Resh (Editor); Ring T. Cardé (Editor)
Call Number: QL462.3 .E485 2009
[Online Resource]
Amsterdam ; London : Elsevier/Academic Press, 2009
Insects: Their Natural History and Diversity by Stephen Marshall
Call Number: [RH Oversize Stacks] QL473 .M33 2017
Richmond Hill, Ontario ; Buffalo, New York : Firefly Books, 2017
The Superorganism by Bert Hölldobler; Margaret C. Nelson (Illustrator); Edward O. Wilson
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QL496 .H65 2009
New York : W.W. Norton, 2009
The Bees of the World by Charles D. Michener
Call Number: QL566 .M53 2007
[Online Resource]
Baltimore : Johns Hopkins University Press, 2007
Encyclopedia of Entomology by John L. Capinera (Editor)
[Online Resource]
Dordrecht ; Boston : Kluwer Academic, 2008

Popular Books on Entomology

For Love of Insects by Thomas Eisner; Edward O. Wilson (Foreword by)
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QL463 .E38 2003
Cambridge, Mass. : Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2003
The Honey Factory by Jurgen. Tautz; Diedrich Steen
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QL568.A6 T3713 2018
Carlton, VIC, Australia : Black Inc., an imprint of Schwartz Publishing Pty Ltd, 2018
The Earwig's Tail by May R. Berenbaum
[Online Resource]
Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 2009

Societies and Online Resources

American Beekeeping Federation
The American Beekeeping Federation (ABF) will act on behalf of the beekeeping industry on issues affecting the interests and the economic viability of the various sectors of the industry.
BugGuide
An open, online community of naturalists committed to sharing observations, identifications, and photographs of spiders, insects, and related organisms.
Entomological Society of America (ESA)
Founded in 1889, the largest organization in the world serving the professional and scientific needs of entomologists and individuals in related disciplines.
Invertebrate Zoology at the American Museum of Natural History
Information about the Invertebrate Zoology division, how to visit the special collections, and a specimen database.
The Xerces Society for Invertebrate Conservation
An international nonprofit organization that protects the natural world through the conservation of invertebrates and their habitats.

Ichthyology

Guides, Encyclopedias, and Reference Books

The Physiology of Fishes by David H. Evans (Editor); James B. Claiborne (Editor)
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QL639.1 .P49 2006
Boca Raton, FL : CRC, Taylor and Francis, 2006
Encyclopedia of Underwater Life by Andrew Campbell
Online Resource
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2005

Popular Books on Ichthyology

Eels by James Prosek
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QL638.A55 P86 2010
New York : Harper, 2010
An Entirely Synthetic Fish by Anders Halverson
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QL638.S2 H187 2010
New Haven : Yale University Press, 2010
Return of the Gar by Mark Spitzer
[Online Resource]
Denton, Texas : UNT Press, 2015

Selected Zoology Journals

General Zoology

Annual Review of Animal Biosciences
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 2014 - Present
Frontiers in Zoology
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 2004 - Present
Animal Behaviour
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 1993 - Present

Mammalogy

Mammal Review
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 1997 - Present

Ornithology

The Auk
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 1884 - 6 months ago

Entomology

Journal of Insect Physiology
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 1998 - 2007

Herpetology

Journal of Herpetology
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 1968 - Present

Ichthyology

Journal of Applied Ichthyology
Peer Reviewed
Years available: 2023 - Present

Ornithology

Dictionaries, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, Guides, and Reference Books

American Birding Association Field Guide to Birds of New York by Corey Finger; Brian E. Small (Photographer)
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] QL684.N7 F56 2016
New York : Scott & Nix, Inc., 2016
Handbook of Bird Biology by Cornell Lab of Ornithology Staff
Call Number: [RH Oversize Stacks] QL673 .H263 2004
Ithaca, N.Y. : Cornell Lab of Ornithology in association with Princeton University Press, 2004
A Field Guide to the Birds of Eastern and Central North America by Roger Tory Peterson (Editor); Virginia Marie Peterson (Editor)
Call Number: [RH Special Collections] SPEC COLL POWELL 439
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Company, 2002

Popular Books on Birds

The Genius of Birds by Jennifer Ackerman
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QL698.3 .A285 2016
New York : Penguin Press, 2016
The Thing with Feathers by Noah Strycker
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QL698.3 .S77 2014
New York : Riverhead Books, 2014
Ten Thousand Birds by Tim Birkhead; Bob Montgomerie; Jo Wimpenny
[Online Resource]
Princeton : Princeton University Press, 2014
Avian Illuminations: A Cultural History of Birds by Boria Sax
[Online Resource]
London : Reaktion Books, Limited, 2021

Societies and Online Resources

All About Birds
From the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, this is a comprehensive guide to North American birds, containing information on the history of each bird, as well as sound and video recordings.
American Ornithological Society
A global network of professionals working to advance the scientific study and conservation of birds.
Avibase
An extensive database information system for subspecies of birds, including distribution information, taxonomy, and synonyms in several languages.

Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
Brings scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology into a single platform where biologists and birders can find comprehensive life history information on birds from around the world. Illustrated.
Formerly "Birds of North America Online."

Herpetology

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Reference Books

Turtles, Tortoises and Terrapins by Ronald Orenstein; Jeanne A. Mortimer; George R. Zug
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QL666.C5 O74 2001
Buffalo, N.Y. : Firefly Books, 2001
The Eponym Dictionary of Reptiles by Bo Beolens; Michael Watkins; Michael Grayson
[Online Resource]
Baltimore : Johns Hopkins University Press 2011

Popular Books on Herpetology

Stalking the Plumed Serpent and Other Adventures in Herpetology by D. Bruce Means
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QL641 .M39 2008
Sarasota, Fla. : Pineapple Press, 2008
Life in Cold Blood by David Attenborough
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QL644 .A88 2008
Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, 2008
Voyage of the Turtle by Carl Safina
Call Number: [RH Stacks] QL666.C546 S24 2006
New York : Holt, 2006

Societies and Online Resources

American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists (ASIH)
Professional society dedicated to the scientific study of fishes, amphibians, and reptiles.
The AmphibiaWeb
AmphibiaWeb provides information on amphibian declines, natural history, conservation, and taxonomy.
The Center for North American Herpetology (CNAH)
A data bank for information about North American amphibians, turtles, reptiles, and crocodilians. CNAH also promotes research and photography of these animal groups.
Herpetologists League
An international organization of people devoted to studying herpetology.

Library of Congress Call Numbers - Zoology

Library of Congress Call Numbers for Zoology topics:

QL1-991 - Zoology

QL1-355 - General
- QL61-67 - Collecting and Preserving
- QL101-345 - Geographical Distribution
QL360-599.82 - Invertebrates
- QL366-369 - Protozoa
- QL371-374 - Porifera (Sponges)
- QL375-379 - Coelenterata (Cnidaria)
- QL386-394 - Worms and Other Vermiform Invertebrates
- QL401-432 - Mollusca
- QL434-599 - Anthropoda
QL605-739.8 - Chordates, Vertebrates
- QL614-639.8 - Fishes
- QL640-669.3 - Reptiles and Amphibians
- QL671-699 - Birds
QL700-739.8 - Mammals
QL750-795 - Animal Behavior and Psychology
- QL791-795 - Stories and Anecdotes
QL799-799.5 - Morphology
QL801-950.9 - Comparative Anatomy
- QL821-827 - Skeleton, Osteology
- QL835-841 - Vascular System
- QL845-855 - Respiratory Organs
- QL856-867 - Digestive Organs
- QL872-875 - Excretory System
- QL876-881 - Reproductive System
- QL921-939 - Nervous System
- QL941-943 - Integument, Skin
- QL945-949 - Sense Organs
QL951-991 - Embryology

Biological Sciences: Zoology

General Zoology

Mammalogy

Entomology

Ichthyology

Selected Zoology Journals

Ornithology

Herpetology

Library of Congress Call Numbers - Zoology

Reference & Instruction Department