Research Guides @ Fordham: Religion & Theology: Reference Works

Dictionaries

The Cambridge Dictionary of Christianity by Daniel Patte (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref BR95 .C24 2010
Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2010.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology by Ian A. McFarland (Editor); Karen Kilby (Editor); Iain R. Torrance (Editor); David A. S. Fergusson (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref BV2.5 .C36 2011
Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2011.
Catholic Dictionary by John Hardon
Call Number: (RH) Ref BX841 .H362 2013
ISBN: 0307886344
Publication Date: 2013-06-25
New York : Image, [2013]
Dictionary of Christianity and Science by Paul Copan (General Editor); Tremper Longman III (General Editor); Christopher L. Reese (General Editor); Michael Strauss (General Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref BL240.3 .D53 2017
Grand Rapids, Michigan : Zondervan, [2017]
The Dictionary of Fundamental Theology by Rene Latourelle (Editor); Rino Fisichella (Editor)
Call Number: (RH/LC) Ref BX841 .D481 1994
New York : Crossroad, c1994.
Dictionary of the Ecumenical Movement by Geoffrey Wainwright (Editor); Jose Miguez Bonino (Editor); John S. Pobee (Editor); Tom Stransky (Editor); Pauline Webb (Editor); Nicholas Lossky (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref BX6.3 .D53 2002
Geneva : WCC Publications, 2002.
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets by J. Gordon McConville (Editor); Mark J. Boda (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref BS1505.55 .D53 2012
Downers Grove, Ill. : IVP Academic, c2012.
Dictionnaire d'histoire et de géographie ecclésiastiques [electronic resource] : (DHGE) by Baudrillart, Alfred, 1859-1942.
Call Number: (RH) Ref D2 .D52 - 30 vols.
Turnhout, Belgium : Brepolis. It is the online version of the reference work published by Letouzey et Ané.
Global Dictionary of Theology by William A. Dyrness (Editor); Veli-Matti Kärkkäinen (Editor); Simon Chan (Associate Editor); Juan F. Martinez (Associate Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref BR95 .G56 2008
Downers Grove, Ill. : IVP Academic ; Nottingham, England : Inter-Varsity Press, c2008.
New Dictionary of Theology by Martin Davie (Editor); Tim Grass (Editor); Stephen R. Holmes (Editor); John McDowell (Editor); T. A. Noble (Editor); David Emmanuel Singh (Consultant Editor); Kevin J. Vanhoozer (Consultant Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref BR95 .N39 2016
Downers Grove, IL : InterVarsity Press, [2016]
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church by F. L. Cross (Editor); E. A. Livingstone (Editor)
Call Number: (LC, W) Ref R95 .O9 1997
New York : Oxford University Press, 1997.

Encyclopedias

The Encyclopedia of American Catholic History by Michael Glazier; Thomas Shelly (Editor)
Call Number: (RH/LC/W) Ref BX1406.2 .E53 1997
Collegeville, Minn. : Liturgical Press, c1997.
Encyclopedia of American Religious History by Edward L. Queen (Editor); Stephen R. Prothero (Editor); Gardiner H. Shattuck (Editor); Martin E. Marty (Foreword by)
New York, N.Y. : Facts On File, c2009. 3rd ed.
Encyclopedia of Catholicism by Frank K. Flinn
Call Number: (RH) Ref BX841 .F55 2007
New York : Facts On File, c2007.
Encyclopedia of Eastern Orthodox Christianity by John Anthony McGuckin (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref BX230 .E53 2011 V 2 vols.
Chichester, West Sussex, U.K. ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.
Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature by Bron Taylor (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref BL31 .E493 2005 2 vols.
London ; New York : Thoemmes Continuum, 2005.
Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception by Klauck, Hans-Josef.
Call Number: (RH) Ref BS440 .E534 2009
Berlin ; New York : Walter de Gruyter, 2009- 7 vols.
Encyclopedia of Theology by Karl Rahner (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref BR95 .S32 1982
New York : Crossroad, 1982, c1975.
Homosexuality and Religion by Jeffrey S. Siker
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2007.
New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed. by Catholic University of America Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: (RH/LC) Ref + BX841 .C26 2003 -- 15 vols
Detroit : Thomson, Gale ; Washington, DC : In association with the Catholic University of America, c2003.

New Catholic Encyclopedia (2nd Edition 2003) This link opens in a new window
Ceased after 2nd ed. (2003). Go to Table of Content for full text. For Supplements see Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library.)

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible by Michael D. Coogan (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref + BS440 .O93 2011
New York: Oxford University Press, 2011 2 vols.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation by Hans J. Hillerbrand (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref + BR302.8 .O93 1996 4 vols.
New York : Oxford University Press, 1996.
Science, Religion, and Society by Arri Eisen; Gary Laderman
Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, 2007.

Bibliographic Resources

The SBL Handbook of Style by Billie Jean Collins; Society of Biblical Literature Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: (RH) Ref PN 147.S26 2014
Atlanta, Georgia : SBL Press, 2014. Second Edition.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian; Wayne C. Booth (Revised by); Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); University of Chicago Press Staff (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by)
Call Number: (RH, W) Ref LB2369 .T8 2013
Chicago ; London : University of Chicago Press, [2013].

Research Tools

Key Words in Buddhism by Ron Geaves
Call Number: (RH) Ref BQ130 .G43 2006
Washington, D.C. : Georgetown University Press, 2006.
Key Words in Christianity by Ron Geaves
Call Number: (RH) Ref BR95 .G43 2006
Washington, D.C. : Georgetown University Press, 2006.
Key Words in Hinduism by Ron Geaves
Call Number: (RH) Ref BL1105 .G43 2006
Washington, D.C. : Georgetown University Press, 2006.
Key Words in Islam by Ron Geaves; Rebecca Vaughan-Williams
Call Number: (RH) Ref BP40 .G396 2006
Washington, D.C. : Georgetown University Press, c2006.
Key Words in Judaism by Ron Geaves
Call Number: (RH) Ref BM50 .G43 2006
Washington, D.C. : Georgetown University Press, 2006.
Key Words in Religious Studies by Ron Geaves
Call Number: (RH) Ref BL82 .G43 2006
Washington, D.C. : Georgetown University Press, 2006.

ATLA Guides

ATLA Research Guide on African Traditional Religions
Created by Dr. Will Coleman, Associate Professor at the Interdenominational Theological Center, and Awo Fa'lokun Fatunmbi, with assistance from Brad Ost, Head of Reference Services and Theological Librarian at the Atlanta University Center Robert W. Woodruff Library. Funding for this project was provided through a generous grant from ATLA.
ATLA Websites on Religion
The Atla Websites on Religion Research Guide is a growing, selective, annotated collection of web resources for the study of religion.
ATLA Research Guides for Librarians and Collection Managers
ATLA research guides include resources and guidance for use by librarians and staff at religious and theological libraries and archives.

Religion & Theology: Reference Works

Dictionaries

Encyclopedias

Bibliographic Resources

Research Tools

ATLA Guides

Reference & Instruction Department