Government & Historical Documents - New York - Researching - Research Guides @ Fordham at Fordham University Libraries

Charter, Administrative Code, Rules and City Council

Administrative Code, Charter, Rules of New York City
Legal documents hosted for the municipality by the American Legal Publishing Corporation.
New York City Council Legislation
Search through legislation, data, committees, the hearings calendar, video archives, and learn about the council's legislative process.

The City Record Online (CROL)
Official journal of the city published each business day offering procurement notices (solicitations and awards) from 2003 to present along with public hearings and meetings, court notices, auctions and sales, agency rules and special materials from August 2013 to present.
The City Record Project at NYU Tandon School of Engineering
Offers digitized copies of The City Record from 1873 to 1949.

The City Budget
Shows how public funds are distributed impacting the city's operations, services, construction, and so much more. Includes access to discretionary funds database.

Office of the Mayor of the City of New York
Offers news, press releases, transcripts of speeches, statements, executive orders, and more.

Municipal Archives and Library
Department of Records and Information Services (DORIS) website offering links to the Municipal Archives, library, and other information about accessing historical documents.
NYC Government Publications Portal (GPP)
A searchable online repository of New York City's digitized government publications.
Electronic Catalog of the NYC Records and Information Services
Search for hard copy materials including agency publications here.
OpenRecords Portal
NYC platform to submit Freedom of Information Law (FOIL) requests to NYC agencies.
New York City Government - Social Media Archive
Provides public access to archived social media content created by City agencies.
Web Archive for nyc.gov
Archived website content from nyc.gov beginning in 2019.

Constitution of the State of New York
Full constitution as amended and in force since January 1, 2022.

Open Book New York
Provided by the Office of the State Comptroller, this provides information on state contracts, state payments, local government data, state spening, public authorities data, various data dashboards, and more.

New York State Senate
Browse the current laws of New York organized by subject matter and search for bills proposed by members of the Senate, members of the Assembly, and the Governor.
New York State Assembly
Search for bill introduced in the NY State Assembly.
New York State Governor - Executive Orders
View executive orders issued by governors.
NY State Legislature
Searchable database of laws, bills, and more.

FindLaw This link opens in a new window
Access to New York consolidated and unconsolidated laws, court acts and rules.

New York State Unified Court System
Comprehensive website documenting the structure of the New York Court system. Offers background information and digital tools to research different courts and judicial processes.

Researching New York’s Dutch Heritage
A guide from the New York State Archives of the largest online collection of original documents of the Dutch West India Company's colonies in North America and the Caribbean. Documents are translated to support searching in English.
Fordham Library Catalog
See items in the library catalog by subject New York (State)--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775--Sources to find additional options.

New York State Documents
Guidance from the New York State Library about accessing various state documents.
New York State Library -- Digital Collections
Provides links to the New York State Library Catalog, digital collections, manuscripts & special collections, and information about services.
New York State Archives
Use the Quick Links section to search for records, digital collections, legislative bill & veto jacks, and more.