Articles & Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Library databases aggregate content from journals, magazines, and newspapers. For a wider search across many publications on a topic, trying using a library database to search for articles.

► If your focus is on finding peer-reviewed articles from scholarly journals, use the options in each database to target your search by peer review status and document type i.e. check boxes for full text, peer review, articles, etc. Using these options known as "limiters" should remove book reviews from your results.

Academic Search Complete

Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
ProQuest Research Library

Full text of articles on broad range of subjects since 1971
JSTOR & ARTSTOR
Hundreds of academic journals in full text.

NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources).Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
JSTOR Subscribed Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets.
ARTSTOR notes:
To go directly to Collections, use the Browse function dropdown (upper right corner) or filtering on the left side after doing a search.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Full text of hundreds of journals including current issues. No access to books.
SAGE Journals Collection

Full text of many Sage journals. Click through to check specific access to each title.

History Databases

America: History & Life
Index to history of U.S. and Canada comprising nearly 2,000 journals since 1910. **Use the option on the left panel under "Limit To" to exclude book reviews from your results.**
U.S. History (Gale In Context)

Includes scholarly content on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. history.

Architecture

Art & Architecture Complete

Index and abstracts to hundreds of periodicals, trade publications and books with links to full text when available.
Art, Design & Architecture Collection
Includes ARTbibliographies Modern Database, Arts & Humanities Database, Design & Applied Arts Index, and International Bibliography of Art Database.

Research Help

Not finding the information you need?

Chat live with a real, human librarian to get help.

Newspaper & Magazine Articles

See the News & Magazines tab

Requesting Articles Through InterLibrary Loan

Articles from journals that Fordham does not subscribe to can be requested through InterLibrary Loan. If the library is able to get access, these articles will be delivered to researchers electronically.

ILLiad
Open an account with Interlibrary Loan to request access to books, articles, etc. that Fordham does not own.

Requesting Book Chapters & Print Journal Articles

Sometimes, you only need a portion of a book or a single article. If you cannot get to the library to scan print content in our collection, you can request that we scan the content for you.

Document Delivery Service
Need an electronic scan of a book chapter or article from the library's print collection? Try our Document Delivery Service to receive scans via email.

New York - Researching: Articles & Databases