Research Guides @ Fordham: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Studies (LGBTQ): Stonewall Riots

Stonewall Inn, 1969

Image credit: "Stonewall Inn" by Diana Davies via New York Public Library Digital Collections.

Image credit: "Marsha P. Johnson and Sylvia Rivera" by Rudy Grillo via the The Rudy Grillo Collection at the LGBT Community Center Archive.

Bar Guides Collection -- LGBT Community Center
For broader context, check out the 1968 and 1969 New York City Gay Scene Guides to see how community resources were described at the time.

Archives of Sexuality and Gender
Contains 51 digitized archival collections exploring LGBTQ history and culture since 1940. Includes newsletters, magazines, newspapers, manuscripts, and more with articles and commentary published after Stonewall. Must have an NYPL card to access remotely.

NYC LGBT Historic Sites Project
Stonewall Inn page with an overview, map, images, and links.

Landmarks Preservation Commission -- Stonewall Inn
Outlines the historical, architectural, and cultural significance of the Stonewall Inn from the NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission.

Credo Reference - Academic Core This link opens in a new window
Search digital encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks for overviews of Stonewall and short biographies of some participants and organizations.

The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History [electronic resource] by Howard Chiang
A three-volume encyclopedia with entries on Stonewall, key participants, activist organizations formed after Stonewall, and its influence on global movements.

Stonewall [electronic resource] : The Definitive Story of the LGBTQ Rights Uprising that Changed America (Rev. ed.) by Martin B. Duberman
Plume, 2019.
Love and Resistance : Out of the Closet Into the Stonewall Era by Jason Baumann (Editor)
W. W. Norton & Company, 2019.
Call number [RH Stacks] HQ76.8.U5 L68 2019
Stonewall : The Riots that Sparked the Gay Revolution by David Carter
St. Martin's Press, 2004.
Call number [RH & LC Stacks] HQ76 .C315 2004

The Stonewall Riots : A Documentary History by Marc Stein (Editor)
New York University Press, 2019.
Call number [RH Stacks] HQ76.8.U5 S753 2019

Offers transcriptions of 200 documents presenting "a unique record of the lessons and legacies of Stonewall."
The Stonewall Reader [electronic resource] by New York Public Library (editor)
Penguin Classics, 2019.

A collection of oral histories, diaries, and articles from LGBTQ magazines & newspapers documenting the years leading up to Stonewall and its aftermath drawn from the collections at New York Public Library.

New York Times: ProQuest Historical Newspapers with Index This link opens in a new window
Use "Stonewall" as your search term and select the date range of June 28, 1969 to July 3, 1969 to locate articles.

Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press
Search through alternative press papers limiting your search to begin in July 1969 with "Stonewall AND gay" as keywords.
Stonewall Riot Police Reports
Digitized reports requested by Jonathan Ned Katz via the Freedom of Information Law (FOIL) and posted on OutHistory.org.

Individual Articles:

Smith, Howard. “Full Moon Over the Stonewall.” The Village Voice, vol. XIV, no. 38, 3 July 1969.
Truscott IV, Lucian. “Gay Power Comes to Sheridan Square.” The Village Voice, vol. XIV, no. 38, 3 July 1969
Lisker, Jerry. “Homo Nest Raided, Queen Bees Are Stinging Mad.” The New York Daily News, 6 July 1969. (Alternate image of the article.)

Additional Articles:

See the print books listed and/or the box with NYPL resources for the Archives of Sexuality and Gender.

The Stonewall Oral History Project
Video oral histories from The National Park Service's Stonewall Oral History Project, in partnership with The LGBT Community Center and the Lower East Side Tenement Museum.
Stonewall Uprising Interviews
Includes 48 interviews from the American Experience documentary of the same name (directed by Kate Davis and David Heilbroner) via OpenVault from WGBH.