Research Guides @ Fordham: Law: City, State & Federal Legislation

City Resources

Administrative Code, Charter, Rules of New York City
Legal documents hosted for the municipality by the American Legal Publishing Corporation.
New York City Council
Offers a range of resources including how to find legislation, videos of hearings, data, and more.
NYC Office of the Mayor
Includes press releases, transcripts of speeches, and executive orders.
See the New York - Researching guide for additional options.

Law 101: Fundamentals of Law, New York and Federal Law by Michael H. Martella, Esq.
Open SUNY, 2018.

Open textbook covering basic legal concepts of the law to undergraduates.

FindLaw
Access to New York consolidated and unconsolidated laws, court acts and rules.

HeinOnline Law Library
Find archive of NY session laws from 1691-2020 including the New York Colony (1691-1775). Once inside HeinOnline, find the Browse Databases by Name heading and select New York Legal Research Library.

New York Department of State
Division of Administrative Rules produces the weekly State Register that provides information on the rule making activities of state agencies.
Executive Orders
Issued by the Governor.

The Federal Register : The Daily Journal of the United States Government
Find links to news, proclamations, executive orders, notices, and more since 1994.
The Constitution of the United States
Transcription and images from the National Archives and Records Administration.
United States Code
A consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. Offers resources for understanding laws including the Popular Name Tool.

Code of Federal Regulations
Full text of the United States Code of Federal Regulations.

Congress.gov
Official website providing information about bills, schedules, research reports, biographies, historical information, and more.

ProQuest Legislative Insight
Covers Congressional legislative history in full text. Includes all enacted and related bills, Congressional Record excerpts, committee documents, and Presidential signing statements.
Legislative & Executive Publications (Proquest Congressional)
Includes Committee Prints (1830-Present), House Senate Hearings (1824-1979), House and Senate Documents (1817-Present), and more.
House and Senate Reports (1819-Present), Bills and Resolutions (1789-Present) and Legislative Histories (1969-Present). Also includes the Serial Set with House and Senate Documents and Reports (1789-2003).

Not finding the information you need?

Chat live with a real, human librarian to get help.

HeinOnline Law Library
Offers millions of pages of multidisciplinary periodicals, government documents, international resources, case law, and more.

govinfo
Publishes the status of federal legislation, information about representatives and senators, voting records, and original research on legislation.

Government Documents Collection at Fordham
See the Government Documents research guide for additional resources.

Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926
Legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 to 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history.

Avalon Project : Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
View transcriptions of U.S. legal documents on a variety of subjects.