Research Guides @ Fordham: Law: Database Tips for Nexis Uni & HeinOnline

Database Tips

Databases covering law & legal research ca be very complicated in comparison to other library databases. Consult the videos below for search tips on your own, or contact one of the library liaisons on this guide to schedule a consultation.

► If you are a student enrolled at Fordham University School of Law, please consult the resources at The Maloney Library.

Database Tips for Nexis Uni

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Offers U.S. legal information, cases, directories, news, company information and more.
A user will be able to download 250 titles/headlines from the search results list at a time. Checking the box next to each search result allows users to download the full document. The system will allow downloading of 100 documents or 1,000 pages at a time. There are no overall total download limits.

→ To use Nexis Uni, you will need to:

Turn off pop up blockers in your browser.

You can create an account once inside the database using your Fordham email to make sure you can access all database features when working remotely. Look towards the top right of the page for a "Sign In | Register" link. This account will allow you to take advantage of additional features & tutorials.

→ Once inside the database, look for the question mark icon on the bottom right to locate short video tutorials for search help.

Quick Links for Selected Nexis Uni Video Tutorials

Database Tips for HeinOnline

HeinOnline Law Library This link opens in a new window
Offers the full-text of law review journals and primary legal documents in 100+ databases including the U.S. Supreme Court Library, U.S. Congressional Documents, New York Legal Research Library, international resources, and more.

HeinOnline Knowledge Base
Provides links to an array of help topics and videos.
Exploring HeinOnline
Research guides explaining how to use each separate database by topic within HeinOnline.

HeinOnline Video Tutorial Collections on YouTube

HeinOnline Training on the Go via YouTube
Find short video tutorials that demonstrate how to search for specific items or use facets within each database.
HeinOnline Academic Webinars via YouTube
Longer webinars that take a deeper dive into researching legal topics.

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries

Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)