Research Guides @ Fordham: Law: Treaties & International Agreements

Finding the Text of Treaties

Depending on when a treaty was written, the full text may be found in books, pamphlets, websites, or databases.

→ If you have issues locating the text of a treaty, ask one of the library liaisons to Law for help.

→ Fordham Law students and faculty should consult resources for lawyers via The Maloney Library.

Finding U.S & International Treaties

HeinOnline Law Library This link opens in a new window
Click above to enter the database. Once inside, look for top box with the heading Browse Databases by Category. In the options below, select International Treaties and Agreements. From there, select 1 of the 4 databases: U.S. International Trade, U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library, United Nations Law Collection, or World Treaty Library.

Treaties and Other International Acts Series (TIAS)
Official publication from the U.S. Department of State, Office of Treaty Affairs. Provides the text of treaties and international agreements going back to 1981.

U.S. Treaties with Native American Nations

Indigenous Digital Archive Treaties Explorer
Provides digital access to 374 Ratified Indian Treaties with the U.S. alongside additional primary sources that offer context to the agreements.

Selected Open Access International Sources

United Nations Treaty Collection
Offers text and other information about international treaties registered with the U.N. since 1945 as well as League of Nations treaties from 1920-1945.

UK Treaties Online (UKTO)
Open access database with records for more than 14,000 multilateral and bilateral treaties U.K. treaties since 1892 (with some gaps).

Avalon Project
Offers text to some U.S. and international treaties.

Spotlight on International Humanitarian Law

International Committee of the Red Cross. "What Are the Principles of International Humanitarian Law?" YouTube. August 12, 2021. Streaming video, 3:00. https://youtu.be/ESwfxu_1Ko0?si=HtZg__qNuzjA_9Iv.

International Humanitarian Law (IHL) Databases
Three databases from the International Committee of the Red Cross: Treaties, States Parties and Commentaries includes the text of International Humanitarian Law treaties and related documents; Customary International Humanitarian Law covers the rules and the practice of IHL; and National Practice covers manuals, legislation, case law, and other documents of national practice.

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries

Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)