Research Guides @ Fordham: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Studies (LGBTQ): Politics, Advocacy, Legislation

Selection of Books

Beyond the Politics of the Closet [electronic resource] : Gay Rights and the American State Since the 1970s by Jonathan Bell (Editor)
University of Pennsylvania Press, 2020.
Transgender Rights [electronic resource] : From Obama to Trump by Susan Gluck Mezey
Routledge, 2020.
LGBTQ Politics : A Critical Reader by Marla Brettschneider, Susan Burgess, Christine Keating (editors)
New York University Press, 2017.
Call number [LC Stacks] HQ76.5 .L49 2017
After Marriage Equality [electronic resource] : The Future of LGBT Rights by Carlos A. Ball (Editor)
New York University Press, 2016.

Web Archives

LGBTQ+ Politics and Political Candidates Web Archive
Library of Congress collection of digital content related to LBGTQ+ political candidates and political issues and topics at various levels of government, with a focus on lesser-known local and state politics.

Monitoring Anti-LGBTQ Bills & Legislation

Equality Tracker
Digital tool from the Equality Federation providing an interactive map and links to understand proposed bills and their status by state.
LegiScan
Offers free OneVote accounts for individuals to search and track state and Congressional legislation. Offers keyword searching across all state-based legislation.
Law Research Guide
See Fordham's Law research guide and its selection of resources city, state, and federal laws as well as Supreme Court and state court resources.

Articles & Databases

To find scholary articles on LGBTQ politics and public policy issues, try the following:

Finding Articles tab on this guide

Political Science Complete database

HeinOnline Law Library database (Under "Browse Databases by Name" within HeinOnline, select the database LGBTQ+ Rights.)

LGBTQ+ Rights This link opens in a new window
From HeinOnline. Charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries.

Think Tanks & Advocacy Organizations

Movement Advancement Project (MAP)
Provides tools and research to advance LGBTQ equality.

The Williams Institute
Leading research center based at the UCLA School of Law on sexual orientation and gender identity law and public policy.

Center for American Progress — LGBTQ Rights
An independent nonpartisan policy institute offering a topic page on LGBTQ Rights with research reports, survey data, and policy analysis.

Human Rights Campaign
Provides reports, research, and other tools by topic.

National Center for Lesbian Rights
Offers links to issues by topic with links to press releases, court cases, publications, and other resources.

National LGBTQ Taskforce
Posts news, statements, and research briefs.

National Center for Transgender Equality
Advocacy organization founded in 2003 by trans* activists.

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries

Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)