Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles & Databases
This page highlights resources for finding articles in periodicals at Fordham University Libraries.
- A periodical is a journal, magazine or newspaper published regularly on a schedule.
- The primary avenue for finding finding articles in periodicals is through databases.
Searching for Specific Articles & Journals
Searching Periodicals (Video)
Part of the Library Instructional Bibliographic Series, this video will show you how to look up newspapers, magazines, and journals individually at Fordham University Libraries.
Selection of Journals
This section contains a selection of subscribed journals for browsing.
Selection of Databases
JSTOR (EXPANDED COLLECTIONS & EBOOKS - ENDS 12/31/20)
Hundreds of academic journals available in full text. The Feminist & Women's Studies collection contains 43 journals.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection (EXPANDED ACCESS TO 6/30/20)
Full text of hundreds of journals including current issues. Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies collection contains 30 journals. No access to books.
Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile)
Full text access to publications from domestic and international organizations.
Database covering women, gender, and LGBT studies with access to 219,000 articles from 1970 to present from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses.
Combines the Women's Studies International Index and Men's Studies Index and contains almost 1 million records dating from the 1970's up to the present. Index with some full text.
SAGE Journals Collection
Full text of over 700 journals.
SocIndex with Full Text
Comprehensive index to the literature on sociology including journals, books, and conference papers.
Online portal serving the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists. A service of the American Anthropological Association.
HeinOnline Law Library
Contains a wide range of legal resources including: Supreme Court cases, law-related periodicals and books, codes, opinions and more. Special collections include: John F. Kennedy assassination, history of capital punishment, slavery in America and the world, Gun regulation and legislation, women and the law.
Includes Archive 1923-Present. A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on political and social policy issues that study the evolution of various topics over time.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Premier online resource for helping students explore today's hottest social issues from all perspectives. * Note: Only 85-90% of each Reference title is included in the database. Some material is omitted because of online rights issues.
Current Newspapers & Magazines
The Advocate (magazine)
Bi-monthly magazine of LGBT interest with coverage from 9/17/1996 to present.
Gay City News
The only LGBT newspaper serving New York City and America's largest circulation LGBT print newspaper.
Covering the Washington, DC area LGBTQ community as well as national and international news since 1969.
New England's largest publication for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender readers since 1983.
Bay Area Reporter
America's longest continuously-published, and highest circulation LGBTQ newspaper serving San Francisco's lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender communities.
Philadelphia Gay News
Community newspaper for the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community in Philadelphia since 1976.
Historical Magazines & Newspapers
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
email@example.com ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask-A-Librarian (Chat)