Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LGBTQ Archives & Digital Collections
This page focuses on archives located in NYC and digital collections located around the world documenting LGBTQ+ culture.
For a more expansive search of archival content in all formats at other institutions, use ArchiveGrid.
Fordham Resources by Subscription
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I This link opens in a new window
Archive of primary source publications relating to the history and study of the social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBT communities from 1940 to present. Content includes newsletters, newspapers, conference minutes, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and more.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (scholar's edition) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of documents, images, bibliographies and teaching aids.
New York Public Library Resources
NYPL Library Cards
Available to anyone 13 or older who lives, works, attends school, or pays property taxes in New York State. Apply for a card to access subscription-based LGBTQ resources.
NYPL Gay and Lesbian Collections and HIV/AIDS Collections
The Manuscripts and Archives Division of the New York Public Library holds over 100 collections pertaining to lesbian and gay history and the AIDS/HIV epidemic.
NYPL Digital Collections
Search by keyword to locate digitized LGBTQ+ materials.
LGBT Magazine Archive
Offers digital access to the backfiles of many of the most influential, long-running periodicals devoted to LGBT interests, including The Advocate, Gay News, and The Pink Paper. Must have an NYPL card to access remotely.
LGBT Life with Full Text
Offers indexing and abstracting of content related to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender studies in over 230 journals, magazines, and newspapers. Available onsite at NYPL branches; see access locations listed.
Archives & Digital Collections in NYC
Digital Collections -- U.S.A.
Digital Public Library of America
Offers access to over 43 million images, texts, videos, and sounds hosted at libraries, museums, and archives across the United States. Search by keyword to locate LGBTQ+ content.
Digital Transgender Archive
A collaboration of more than fifty colleges, universities, organizations, public libraries, and private collections to increase the accessibility of transgender history.
GLBT Historical Society Museum & Archives -- Online Resources
Search digital collections, exhibitions, primary source sets, and research guides.
ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives
The largest repository of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer (LGBTQ) materials in the world housed at USC Libraries.
Includes timelines, biographies, essays, and primary sources on assorted topics.
South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA)
Browse items in the gender & sexuality collection documenting South Asian American history.
LGBTQIA+ Studies: A Resource Guide
Find LGBTQ+ items in the collections of the Library of Congress.
Digital Collections -- International
Film & Video
In the Life
Digital archive of In the Life, television’s longest running LBGT news magazine in the UCLA Film & Television Archive.
L.O.V.E.(Lesbians Organized for Video Experience) documented lesbian & feminist protest activities from 1972-1977 in New York City.
Lilli M. Vincenz Collection -- Videos
Two digitized videos from the Library of Congress: "The Second Largest Minority" from the Reminder Day Picket held at Independence Hall in Philadelphia (1968) and "Gay and Proud" from the first Christopher Street Liberation Day Parade held in New York City (1970).
Archived Publications & Ephemera
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
firstname.lastname@example.org ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)