Research Guides @ Fordham: Fake News: Reputable Journalism

Selection of Generally Trustworthy Sources for News & Information

Domestic News Sources

Barron's website and library e-journal
Chicago Tribune website and library e-journal
Christian Science Monitor website and library e-journal
Chronicle of Higher Education website and library e-journal (most recent month not available)
Education Week website and library e-journal
Los Angeles Times website and library e-journal
New York Times website and library database
USA Today website and library e-journal
Wall Street Journal website and library database
Washington Post website and library e-journal

Official US government sources:

USA.gov - Official portal for US government services and information
Budget of the United States Government
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
United States Congress
Data and Statistics about the U.S.

Independent news outlets:

AP News - Not-for-profit news cooperative covering worldwide breaking news and investigative reporting
C-SPAN - Coverage of unedited political and non-political public policy events, interviews and historical programs
Reuters - Reuters' editorial policy states: "We are committed to reporting the facts and in all situations avoid the use of emotive terms. The only exception is when we are quoting someone directly or in indirect speech."

Selection of International News Sources

Arabic: Al Jazeera English (**Also see Al Jazeera international coverage)
British: BBC News (**Also see BBC international coverage)
British: The Guardian
British: openDemocracy
Asian: Asia Times
Canadian: National Post
Russian: Russian Times
French: Le Monde
Italy: La Repubblica
South Africa: Sunday Times
South Africa: City Press
Kenya: Daily Nation

Newspaper Databases at Fordham University Libraries

News (Gale OneFile - Includes NY State Newspapers & NY Times) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of national, international, state and local newspapers from 1980-present.
US Newsstream (Formerly National Newspapers Premier) This link opens in a new window
Covers over 50 U.S. newspapers: NY Times, Wall Street Journal, LA Times, Washington Post and others.
Newspaper Source (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers, 389 regional U.S. newspapers, and television & radio news transcripts.
New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text from 1980 to the present on the ProQuest platform.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Browse issues from 1984 to Present. Includes Full Text.

Databases Highlighting Multiple Perspectives

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Online resource for helping students explore today's hottest social issues from all perspectives. * Note: Only 85-90% of each reference title is included in the database. Some material is omitted because of online rights issues.
Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Global Issues In Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Browse podcasts, video, and interactive graphs by Issues and Topics, and Country Finder.

Reputable Polling Data

Demographic Data & Statistics Research Guide
Includes links to reputable data, polling, and public opinion resources.

Fake News on Legitimate News Websites

Screenshot of the phrase sponsored stories, indicating the articles are advertisements

Recognizing the difference between news reporting and paid content by advertisers is key to challenging fake news. Check to see if content is marked as promoted, sponsored, or as an advertisement.

Outfox advertisers and their algorithms by simply refusing to click.

Maheshwari, Sapna, and John Herrman. "Publishers are Rethinking those ‘Around the Web’ Ads." New York Times, Oct 30 2016, http://www.nytimes.com.avoserv2.library.fordham.edu/2016/10/31/business/media/publishers-rethink-outbrain-taboola-ads.html?partner=bloomberg.

Fake News: Reputable Journalism

Authority is Contextual