Research Guides @ Fordham: Humanitarian Studies Programs: Articles &amp; Databases

Selected Library Databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database covering a wide range of disciplines going back to 1960. Offers the ability to search for scholarship related to UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

► Find additional databases covering peer-reviewed scholarship in the social sciences on the Database list or other research guides.

► Unsure about how to find and identify evidence-based research or empirical research? Check the resources on the Literature Reviews guide.

Databases with a mixture of content types:

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country and industry reports, and downloadable data.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs since 1991 including working papers, conference proceedings, books, journals and policy briefs.

Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
A full-text research database covering political topics with a worldwide focus, including international relations, political theory, and comparative politics.

PubMed/MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Offers more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®). Note: MEDLINE citations are included in OneSearch.

Reports & Policy Research

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
A collection of authoritative reports on political and social policy issues from 1923-present.

Country Watch This link opens in a new window
Provides information on most countries including business & economic intelligence, maps, cultural insights, political information, and more. No access to Forecasts.

Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Offers public policy research and analysis from think tanks, nonprofit organizations, NGOS, university research programs, etc.

Finding Newspaper, Magazine, and Journal Articles

To search across multiple publications at once on a particular topic, try a database like OneSearch on the library home page or subject-specific library databases on this page or through the Database list.

To search for specific articles from a citation or a specific publication, search by publication name through the E-Journals tab on the library homepage.

To search for articles by DOI, go to the E-Journals tab and enter the string of numbers & letters in the DOI/PMID search box:

Open Access Resources

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to thousands of peer-reviewed journals covering all topics.
NOTE: Some content may not be freely available.

IMF eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Online archive of IMF publications dating back to 1946 including books, papers, manuals, reports, data, periodicals, and more.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Offers free access to OECD ebooks, reports, articles, indicators, graphs, and more.

World Bank Open Knowledge Repository This link opens in a new window
OKR is the The World Bank’s official open repository offering its research outputs including books, journals, reports, and more.

The World Factbook
Offers information on 265 world entities from the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA).

World Health Organization (WHO) -- IRIS
Open repository of publications from WHO.

Research Help

Not finding the information you need?

Chat live with a real, human librarian to get help.

News & Newspapers

Newspapers By Subscription
Full list of current and historical newspapers available through the Fordham Libraries.

UN News
Multimedia and multilingual news content from around the world from the United Nations.

United Nations Resources

UN Documentation: How to Find UN Documents
Research guide from the Dag Hammarskjöld Library with tips for finding UN documents, resolutions, reports, meeting records & speeches, voting records, and letters.
UN Official Document System (ODS)
Provides full text search of documents issued since 1993; resolutions of all principal organs & Security Council plenary documents since 1946. Older documents are added regularly. Includes the Daily Journals of New York and Geneva.
United Nations Digital Library (UNDL)
Includes UN documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and UN-produced materials in digital format and bibliographic records for print UN documents starting in 1979.

See UN department and program web pages for research reports, data, and more.

Library Services & WorldCat

Document Delivery Request Form
If you would like a scan of a book chapter or a journal article in our print collection emailed to you, fill out the form above.
Interlibrary Loan
Open an account with Interlibrary Loan to request access to books, articles, etc. that Fordham does not own.

WorldCat FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
OCLC's subscription-based platform for precision searching of WorldCat. Offers robust options to search by title, author, subject heading, format, publisher, publication city, and more.

Humanitarian Studies Programs: Articles & Databases

Articles & Databases