Research Guides @ Fordham: Fashion Research: Articles &amp; Databases

Fashion Design Databases - Text

Follow this link for image and video collections.

Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts to hundreds of periodicals, trade publications and books with links to full text when available.
Art, Design & Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
From ProQuest. Includes ARTbibliographies Modern Database, Arts & Humanities Database, Design & Applied Arts Index, and International Bibliography of Art Database.
Arts Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
From ProQuest. Includes the entire Art, Design & Architecture Collection, Music & Performing Arts Collection and Screen Studies Collection.
The Fashion and Race Database This link opens in a new window
Online platform filled with tools that expand the narrative of fashion history and challenge mis-representation within the fashion system. First session you will be prompted to create a personal account. Use Fordham email as username and a password of your choice in order to use FRD. If you close the browser and start a new session, you will always need to log in with FRD un/pw. For remote access, you will need to log in with Fordham credentials and then FRD un/pw. For any FRD login issues, contact FRD Help Desk
JSTOR (EXPANDED COLLECTIONS) This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of academic journals in full text from v.1: n.1. Primary source materials include 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. All Open Content, Journal Collections, and Reports are available to Fordham users. Artstor database of visual media is now accessible from the JSTOR platform. Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources). Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of journals including current issues. Additional features available with the creation of a personal account. NOTE: We do not have access to all content in this database, and there is no access to non-OA books. Limit your search by selecting 'Only content I have access to' in the facets pane on the left. This database applies non-standard use of Boolean operators. Consult a Fordham Librarian for search support.
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts to over 400 journals since 1983. Includes full text of many articles. Covers many subjects, including art, business, education and entertainment.

Lists of Databases by Subject - Related Subjects

Art & Architecture Subject List
The list of databases available at Fordham that support research in the areas of Art & Architecture.
Anthropology & Archaeology Subject List
The list of databases available at Fordham that support research in the areas of Anthropology & Archaeology.
Ethnic Studies Subject List
The list of databases available at Fordham that support research in the area of Ethnic Studies.
Gender Studies Subject List
The list of databases available at Fordham that support research in the area of Gender Studies.

Fashion Business Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
On ProQuest's platform. Comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for thousands of journals and other sources. Covers business, economics, management, accounting, etc.
Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
From Readex/Newsbank. Full-text news resource consisting of tens of thousands of local, regional, national and international sources. Includes 280 PDF image editions. Updated daily, it offers researchers and students valuable primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs. New content added for 2022. Direct link to USA Today is located at the bottom of the home page. Click on the blue box and then select USA Today - Image Format at the bottom.
Winmo (NY Redbooks) This link opens in a new window
Profiles of over 15,000 U.S. and international advertising agencies and 21,000 global advertisers.
AtoZdatabases Academic This link opens in a new window
The premier job search, reference, and mailing list database ideal for sales leads,
market research, company or industry research, building business plans, and helping entrepreneurs.
View "More" for information on filtering searches

Business & Economics Subject List
The list of databases available at Fordham that support research in the areas of Business & Economics.

Journals, Periodicals & Trade Websites

Selected Scholarly Journals

Clothing Cultures
Bristol, UK : Intellect Limited, 2013-
Costume : The Journal of the Costume Society
London : Published for the Costume Society by the Dept. of Textiles, Victoria and Albert Museum, 1967-
Critical Studies in Fashion and Beauty
Bristol : Intellect, 2010-
Fashion and Textiles (Open Access)
Berlin : Springer, 2014-
Fashion Theory: The Journal of Dress, Body & Culture
Oxford : Bloomsbury Publishers.1997-
International Journal of Fashion Studies
Bristol : Intellect, 2014-

Selected Popular & Trade Publications

The Business of Fashion
Athena Information Solutions Pvt. Ltd.
Glamour
Greenwich, Conn. : Condé Nast Publications, [1941-]
GQ
[New York, N.Y.] : [Condé Nast Publications], 1983-
Harper's bazaar
New York : Harper and Brothers, 1867-
Marie Claire, American ed.
New York, N.Y. : Hearst Corporation, 1994-
Vogue
New York : The Vogue Company, Condé Nast, 1892-
WWD (Women's Wear Daily)
New York : Fairchild Publications, 1976-
Textile : The Journal of Cloth and Culture
Letchworth : Berg Publishers, 2003-

Selected Trade Websites

The Business of Fashion
Portions of the website are free, enhanced access is available via a paid subscription. (Fordham does not subscribe to the website but articles are available via our databases.) Students may register for a free trial.
WWD (Women's Wear Daily)
Portions of the website are free, enhanced access is available via a paid subscription. (Fordham provides access to articles via our databases.)
Wikipedia - List of Notable Fashion Magazines
Search the Library Catalog using the Periodical Title option to determine Fordham library holdings.

Fashion & Sustainability Databases

Environmental Studies - Gale In Context (formerly GREENR) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource on environmental topics that includes news, commentary, documents, conference reports, statistics, audio, video, images. Updated daily.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts of over 384,000 items on the human impact to the environment, as well as full text for nearly 5,000.

Historical Databases with Fashion Content

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search together all series of the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection on EBSCO. Offers a comprehensive documentary history of the American experience spanning four centuries with multiple perspectives on the thought, culture, and society of North America.
American Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1,500 journals published between 1740 and 1940.
International Women's Periodicals/1786-1933: Social And Political Issues This link opens in a new window
Part of Gale Archives Unbound, full text of some of the most significant women’s periodicals from the late eighteenth century through the early 1930s. Focus is on the role of women in society and the development of the public lives of women in the push for women's rights.

Newspapers
This is a list of the newspaper databases available in the Fordham Libraries. Scroll down to find the list of historic newspapers available.

Searching Tips & Training Videos

Think of variant words, both broad and specific. Think of similar terms in variant languages (based on the nationality of the designer).

Fabric – Textiles – Cloth – Silk – Wool
Dressmaking – Fashion – Couture - Haute Couture – Moda - Alta Moda
Footwear – Hats – Shoes – Lingerie – Foundations – Swimwear

Use truncation to find variant word endings

Cloth* will yield: clothing or clothes or cloth
Dress* will yield: dress or dressmaker or dressmaking

Consult the Help option in the database to determine the truncation symbol (usually it is the asterisk *).

Boolean Modifier Video
Video tutorial "How Library Stuff Works: Boolean Modifiers" from McMaster Libraries
Boolean Operators Video
Video Tutorial "How Library Stuff Works: Boolean Operators" from McMaster Libraries
Database Search Tips
Database Search Tips from MIT Libraries covers Boolean search operators, truncation, keyword vs. subjects, fields, phrases and stop words.

Which Database for this Publication?

Search the Library Catalog to determine which database contains the full text of a publication, newspaper, journal, or other periodical.

Screenshot of a periodical title search in the library catalog.

Try searching with the Browse or Exact option (not Keyword):

Screenshot of a periodical record in the library catalog:

Screenshot of the list of databases that provide full text access to that periodical, including dates:

Selecting Authoritative Content

Evaluating Websites
This handout was created by Fordham Libraians to help researchers evaluate the sources they find on the free web and elsewhere.

Fake News
This research guide was created by Fordham Librarians to help researchers understand and identify Fake News and other misleading information sources.
Library Tutorial
This tutorial provides a very basic overview of information literacy concepts and practice. It is recommended that all incoming students review the tutorial and assess their understanding by taking the quizzes at the end of each section.

Fashion Research: Articles & Databases