Research Guides @ Fordham: Fashion Research: Collections, Websites, Video, Images

Videos

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
PBS Videos have been removed. More than 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas and curated for the educational experience. Includes Dance, Music, Classical Performance, and Opera in Video. MUST STAY ON THE ACADEMIC VIDEO CHANNEL - DO NOT CLICK ON CHANNELS LINK. DO NOT EMBED LINKS OR CODE IN BLACKBOARD TO AVOID REMOTE AUTHENTICATION ISSUES. Rather, share the database-generated links via email, chat, or syllabi. What's New (and Some HIGHLIGHTS) in Academic Video Online...
Should you get an error page when trying to access content on-campus or remotely, clear cache / cookies and / or try a different browser that has been cleared of cache / cookies.

Images

JSTOR & ARTSTOR (WITH AI RESEARCH TOOL - BETA) This link opens in a new window
ArtStor content has now merged with JSTOR. Once inside the database, select the tab to search for Images.
NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources).Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
JSTOR Subscribed Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets.
ARTSTOR notes:
To go directly to Collections, use the Browse function dropdown (upper right corner) or filtering on the left side after doing a search.

Vogue Archive via Google Arts and Culture
Find over 15,000 images from this open access collaboration between Google and the Condé Nast Archive.

LUNA Commons This link opens in a new window
A wide variety of high quality open-access image collections of cultural heritage material from museums, archives, universities and other repositories.

Museum & Academic Collections

Bonnie Cashin Collection (part of the JSTOR Open Community Collection)
Bonnie Cashin was a pioneer in women's sportswear design. This digital collection is hosted by JSTOR and is physically housed in the Robert A. Deshon and Karl J. Schlachter Library for Design, Architecture, Art, and Planning (DAAP) at the College of DAAP at the University of Cincinnati.
Cornell Fashion + Textiles Collection
The Department of Fiber Science and Apparel Design maintains the Cornell Fashion + Textile Collection, which includes more than 9,000 garments, flat textiles, and accessories from the late 18th Century to present
The Costume Institute at the Metropolitan Museum of Art (The MET)
The Costume Institute's collection of more than thirty-three thousand objects represents seven centuries of fashionable dress and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present.
LACMA Costume and Textiles Pattern Project
The Pattern Project is an online resource produced by the Costume and Textiles department at LACMA which publishes free downloadable garment patterns of historic dress in the permanent collection
Library of Congress - Fashion Industry Guide
Curated by the Library of Congress, this research guide is designed for those studying the business aspects of the fashion and apparel industry. (Note some resources listed are not available via the Fordham Libraries.)
Victoria and Albert Museum (V&A) Collections
Collections on Costume, Fashion, Jewelry, Hats, Wedding Dresses, Eye Glasses, Shoes, and more.
FIT - Fashion History Dictionary
Part of the FIT Fashion History Timeline.
FIT - Fashion History Timeline
The Fashion History Timeline is an open-access source for fashion history knowledge, featuring objects and artworks from over a hundred museums and libraries that span the globe.
Schlesinger Library Fashion Collections, Harvard University
Archival collections from the Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America, Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University.
Commercial Pattern Archive - CoPA
CoPA-Online offers 55,000 scanned images of commercially produced European and American garments & pattern schematics since 1847.

Miscellaneous Collections

Europeana - Fashion
Historical & contemporary clothing, accessories, designs, catwalk photographs, drawings, sketches, plates, catalogues, and videos from more than 30 European public and private institutions.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central - Research & Learning Tools
Although Fordham does not subscribe to the Bloomsbury database, these tools provide wonderful outlines for researchers.

External Library Research Guides

NYPL - Costume and Fashion History: A Guide to Resources
Check the Fordham Catalog to see if we own these sources, or use your NYPL library card to access the NYPL collections.
Fashion Institute of Technology (FIT) Library Research Guides
Many guides on many fashion topics. Check the Fordham Catalog to see if we own the sources.
UCLA Fashion & Costume Research Guide
Many fashion resources. Check the Fordham Catalog to see if we own them.
NYU Fashion & Costume Research Guide
Many fashion resources. Check the Fordham Catalog to see if we own them.

Fashion Research: Collections, Websites, Video, Images

Videos

Images

Museum & Academic Collections

Miscellaneous Collections

External Library Research Guides

Reference & Instruction Department