Research Guides @ Fordham: Fashion Research: Getting Started

Manuals & Handbooks

Fashion Studies : Research Methods, Sites, and Practices by Heike Jenss (Editor); Joanne B. Eicher (Contribution by); Christopher Breward (Foreword by)
Call Number: ebook (unlimited user)
London ; New York : Bloomsbury Academic, an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing, Plc, [2016]
Fashion Design Research by Ezinma Mbonu
Call Number: ebook (unlimited user)
London : Laurence King Publishing, 2014.
The Language of Fashion Design : 26 Principles Every Fashion Designer Should Know by Laura Volpintesta
Call Number: ebook (unlimited user)
Beverly, MA : Rockport Publishers, 2014.
Fashion Design, 3rd ed. by Sue Jenkyn Jones
Call Number: ebook (unlimited user)
London : Laurence King Pub., 2011.
Form, Fit, Fashion: All the Details Fashion Designers Need to Know But Can Never Find by Jay Calderin
Call Number: ebook (unlimited user)
Beverly, Mass. : Rockport Publishers, [2009]
The Handbook of Fashion Studies : International Perspectives by Sandy Black (Editor); Amy de la Haye (Editor); Joanne Entwistle (Editor); Regina Root (Editor); Helen Thomas (Editor); Agnès Rocamora (Editor); Agnès Rocamora (Editor, Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Stacks TT507 .H178 2013
London ; New York : Bloomsbury, [2013]

Searching The Library Catalog

Search the library catalog for books on your topic.

Library of Congress Call Numbers

Library of Congress Call Numbers for Fashion

GT 500 - GT 5370 – Fashion; social aspects of costuming

TT 490 - TT 695 – Dressmaking; tailoring; technical considerations

Check the Stacks, the Oversized Stacks, and the Reference Area.

Call Numbers for the Business of Fashion

HF 5811-5839 -- Advertising
HD 9940 and TT 496 -- Fashion Industry
HF 5415 -- Marketing
HF 5845 -- Merchandising
HD 5429-5465 -- Retailing

Search the library catalog for additional titles in both print and electronic format.

Reference Books

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Resources for art research including Grove Art Online - the world's largest art encyclopedia and Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Fordham University community can ignore the log in box! Subscription DOES NOT INCLUDE Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Limited to 5 Simultaneous Users.

The Dictionary of Fashion History by C. W. Cunnington; P. E. Cunnington; Valerie Cumming
Call Number: (RH) Ref GT507 .C8 2010
Oxford ; New York : Berg, 2010.
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion, Revised by Valerie Steele
Call Number: (LC, RH) Ref GT507 .E53 2005, 3 vols & ebook (unlimited users)
Farmington Hills : Charles Scribner's Sons; Cengage Gale, 2004.
The Fashion Design Reference & Specification Book : Everything Fashion Designers Need to Know Every Day by Jay Calderin; Laura Volpintesta
Beverly, Massachusetts : Rockport, 2013.
Fashion Since 1900 by Amy de la Haye; Valerie Mendes
Call Number: (RH) Stacks GT596 .M46 2010
London ; New York : Thames and Hudson, 2010.
Previous edition: 20th century fashion. 1999.
In an Influential Fashion : An Encyclopedia of Nineteenth- and Twentieth-century Fashion Designers and Retailers Who Transformed Dress by Ann T. Kellogg; Amy T. Peterson; Stefani Bay; Natalie Swindell; Kamila Dominik (Illustrator)
Call Number: (RH) Reference TT505.A1 I5 2002
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2002.
The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Fashion and Fashion Designers, Revised, expanded and updated edition. by Georgina O'Hara Callan
Call Number: ebook (unlimited user)
Boston, Massachusetts : Credo Reference, 2014.

Fashion Dictionary from WWD
A very basic and free fashion dictionary from the Women's Wear Daily website.

Sustainable Fashion Dictionaries

Conde Nast Sustainable Fashion Glossary
Created by Condé Nast, in partnership with the Centre for Sustainable Fashion, London College of Fashion, University of Arts London.

Library Quicklinks for Fashion Research

Fordham Library Catalog
Includes both electronic and print books. Also search here for the name of a journal, magazine, newspaper, or other periodical to see if Fordham provides access.
Interlibrary Loan
Use InterLibrary Loan (ILLIAD) if Fordham does not own an item. We will attempt to get it for you from another library.
Document Delivery
Use Document Delivery if Fordham owns an item, but you need a segment scanned and delivered to you electronically.
Place A Hold
Place a hold on a book to have it pulled from the shelf for you for pick up at any of the three Fordham Libraries: Quinn at Lincoln Center, Walsh at Rose Hill, or the Westchester Fordham Library.
Bibliographic Management Tools (EndNote, Zotero, or Mendeley)
Create a personal library of the citation information for all of the sources that you read, then use that library to automatically generate bibliographies for your papers and presentations. (Recommended for students who plan to write a thesis or dissertation, or pursue publication.)

Liaison

Jane Suda

she/her

Contact:

Rose Hill Campus
Walsh Family Library
Room 128

jsuda@fordham.edu

718-817-3587

Subjects: Library & Information Science

Liaison

Tierney Gleason

she/her/hers

Contact:

Rose Hill Campus | Walsh Family Library | Room 129
tgleason11@fordham.edu

718.817.3574

Subjects: Library & Information Science

Fashion Research: Getting Started

Temporary Box For Fashion 1000 Students

Manuals & Handbooks

Searching The Library Catalog

Library of Congress Call Numbers

Reference Books

Sustainable Fashion Dictionaries

Library Quicklinks for Fashion Research

Liaison

Liaison

Reference & Instruction Department