Research Guides @ Fordham: Fashion Research: Histories &amp; Geographies

Overviews

A Cultural History of Dress and Fashion (6 vols.) by Susan J. Vincent (Editor)
Bloomsbury Academic, 2021.
Call number [RH Stacks] GT580 C85 2021 vol. 1-6
Clothing and Fashion : American Fashion From Head to Toe (4 vols.) by Jose Blanco F; Patricia Kay Hunt-Hurst; Heather Vaughan Lee; Mary Doering
ABC-CLIO, 2016.
Ethnic Dress in the United States : A Cultural Encyclopedia by Annette Lynch; Mitchell D. Strauss (eds.)
Rowman & Littlefield, 2015.
Call number [RH Reference Area] GT605 .E35 2015
Fashion History : A Global View by Linda Welters; Abby Lillethun
Bloomsbury Academic, 2018.
Call number [RH Stacks] GT511 .W45 2018

Subject Headings & Keywords

To search for books by subject, select the Library Catalog tab from the Library Homepage, type your subject term in the top box, select Library Catalog in the second box, and Subject in the third box.

Use the Library of Congress Subject Headings below to locate items:

Clothing and dress

Costume--History

Fashion--History

Fashion design

Men's clothing

Textile fabrics

Textile industry

Women's clothing

Women's clothing industry

Selected Books

MeXicana Fashions : Politics, Self-Adornment, and Identity Construction by Aída Hurtado; Norma E. Cantú (eds.)
University of Texas Press, 2020.
Call number [RH Stacks] E184.M5 M534 2020
The Fabric of Civilization : How Textiles Made the World by Virginia Postrel
Basic Books, 2020.
Call number [LC & RH Stacks] HD9850.5 .P67 2020
Fashion and Beauty in the Time of Asia by S. Heijin Lee; Christina H. Moon; Thuy Linh Nguyen Tu (eds.)
New York University Press, 2019.
Call number [RH Stacks] HQ1220.A78 F36 2019
Ottoman Dress and Design in the West [electronic resource] : A Visual History of Cultural Exchange by Charlotte A. Jirousek
Indiana University Press, 2019.
Modern Fashion Traditions [electronic resource] : Negotiating Tradition and Modernity Through Fashion by M. Angela Jansen; Jennifer Craik (editors)
Bloomsbury Academic, 2016.
Luxury Indian Fashion [electronic resource] : A Social Critique by Tereza Kuldova
Bloomsbury Academic, 2016.
The Birth of Cool [electronic resource] : Style Narratives of the African Diaspora by Carol Tulloch
Bloomsbury Academic, 2016.
Fear and Clothing : Unbuckling American Style by Cintra Wilson
W.W. Norton & Company, 2015.
Call number [RH & LC Stacks] GT605 .W56 2015
African Fashion, Global Style [electronic resource] : Histories, Innovations, and Ideas You Can Wear by Victoria L. Rovine
Indiana University Press, 2014.
Latin American Fashion Reader by Regina Root
Berg, 2005.
Call number [RH Stacks] GT623 .L38 2005

Finding Articles

See the Articles & Databases tab for recommended databases.

Digital Collections & Archives

Costume & Textiles at MCNY
New York City-centric attire collected by the Museum of the City of New York.
Costume & Textile Collections Online
List of online collections from around the world curated by the Museum at FIT.
Kyoto Costume Institute Digital Archives
Offers images and descriptions for items in their collection from 1700 to present.
Nowes Ark Global Clothing Collection
Digital archive for the Non-Western Clothing Archive (Nowes Ark) at UNC Chapel Hill Department of Dramatic Art.
We Wear Culture -- Google Arts & Culture
Access thousands of images from more than 180 museums, fashion institutions, universities, and archives from around the world.
See Collections, Websites, Video, Images page for more options.
FIT - Fashion History Dictionary
Part of the FIT Fashion History Timeline.
FIT - Fashion History Timeline
The Fashion History Timeline is an open-access source for fashion history knowledge, featuring objects and artworks from over a hundred museums and libraries that span the globe.

Selected Books

International Best Dressed List : The Official Story by Amy Fine Collins
Call Number: (LC) Stacks TT507 .C6535 2019
New York, NY : Rizzoli, 2019.
Kimono Design : An Introduction to Textiles and Patterns by Keiko Nitanai
Tokyo ; Rutland, Vermont : Tuttle Publishing, [2017]
The Right to Dress : Sumptuary Laws in a Global Perspective, c. 1200-1800 by Giorgio Riello (Editor); Ulinka Rublack (Editor)
Cambridge, United Kingdom ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2019.
Peacock Revolution : American Masculine Identity and Dress in the Sixties and Seventies by Daniel Delis Hill
London : Bloomsbury Visual Arts, 2018.
American Menswear : From the Civil War to the Twenty-first entury by Daniel Delis Hill
Call Number: (RH) Oversized GT605 .H55 2011
Lubbock, Texas : Texas Tech University Press.