Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fashion Research: Bodies, Hair, Makeup

This guide highlights print and electronic resources to support fashion research in the Fordham University Libraries.

Bodies, Hair, Makeup

This page offers tips for finding content on plus-size fashion, accessible fashion for people with disabilities, gender inclusive fashion, and hair & makeup in relation to the fashion industry.

Plus-Size Fashion

Use the following keywords in the business databases on the Articles & Databases page to research plus-size fashion and/or brands:

  • "plus-size" generally refers to clothes offered in US sizes starting between 10-14 to 30 or higher.
  • "straight-size" refers to clothes offered in US sizes 0-10 through 0-14.
  • "inclusive sizing" refers to a wide range of sizes not just "straight sizes."

Selected Books:

Disability & Fashion

Use the following keywords in the business databases on the Articles & Databases page to research clothing designed for people with disabilities:

  • accessible clothing or fashion or brands
  • adaptive clothing or fashion or brands
  • "inclusive design"

Selected Books:

Gender Inclusive Fashion

Use the following keywords in the business databases on the Articles & Databases page to research gender inclusive clothing and/or brands:

  • androgynous 
  • "gender fluid"
  • "gender inclusive" 
  • "gender neutral" 
  • unisex

Selected Books:

Bodies

Hair & Makeup

Use the following subject terms in the Library Catalog or the business databases on the Articles & Databases to locate resources:

  • Cosmetics industry
  • Hair--Social aspects
  • Hairdressing
  • Hairstyles

Selected Books:

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries


Walsh Library  ♦  Rose Hill Campus  ♦  718-817-3586   
Quinn Library  ♦  Lincoln Center Campus  ♦  212-636-6050   
Fordham Westchester Library  ♦  Fordham Westchester Campus  ♦  914-367-3061 

library@fordham.edu   ♦   text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ 
Ask a Librarian (Chat)