Research Guides @ Fordham: Film & Television Studies: Start Here -- Reference Sources

Film & Television Studies Research Guide

Welcome to the Film & Television Studies research guide at Fordham University Libraries. This guide is new and under revision. Please check back for updates.

This page contains a selection of resources to collect and/or verify background information. For additional information, see the Communication & Media Studies guide.

If you have any questions or would like to request a research consultation, please contact one of the librarians listed on this guide.

Film & Television Reference

American Film Institute Catalog This link opens in a new window
National filmography documenting the history of American cinema from 1893-1974 comprehensively, with additional records covering selected major films from 1975 to present.
Film Index International This link opens in a new window
A major information resource for international entertainment films and personalities produced by the British Film Institute. Indexes films from over 170 countries from 1900-present.

IMDb -- Internet Movie Database
Free version of IMDb offering comprehensive and authoritative information covering movies and TV including casting, plot summaries, box office estimates, film locations, awards, and much more.
Paley Archive Database
Online database offers synopses and production credits for the 160,000 television and radio programs and advertisements held by the Paley Center.

Awards Reference

EMMY Awards
Offers award, nominee, and honoree information as wells as photos, videos, press releases, interviews, and more.
Film Independent Spirit Awards
Includes information about Spirit Award winners from 1986 to present with varying supplemental information.
Golden Globes
Provides an awards database, nominee profiles, ceremony information, and more.
Oscars.org
Offers information on past awards, ceremonies, acceptance speeches, voting information, digital collections, and more.

Print & Electronic Reference Sources

Search the Library Catalog to locate print and electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, handbooks, etc.

Reference Databases

Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia with citations linked to full text content when available. See Cinema & Media Studies section for collection of bibliographies by topic.
Credo Reference - Academic Core This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and handbooks.
Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Online access to encyclopedias, reference works, and other ebooks covering a wide range of topics