Research Guides @ Fordham: Film & Television Studies: Finding Articles &amp; Reviews

Finding Articles with Film & Television Databases

The following databases contain a mixture of popular and scholarly content.

For scholarly or peer-reviewed articles, check the box for "Academic Journals" or "Peer Review" (options are marked differently in each database) to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles.

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index of hundreds of publications on film and television with links to full text.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Offers coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Index with full text of hundreds of academic and trade journals in communications and mass media.
Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Academic journals and magazines covering all aspects of the communications field.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subject index from the Modern Language Association (MLA) covers the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts. Does not include MLA Directory of Periodicals.

Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of journals including current issues. No access to books. Additional features available with the creation of a personal account.
JSTOR & ARTSTOR (WITH AI RESEARCH TOOL - BETA) This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of academic journals in full text with (19) film studies journals.
NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources).Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
JSTOR Subscribed Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets.
ARTSTOR notes:
To go directly to Collections, use the Browse function dropdown (upper right corner) or filtering on the left side after doing a search.

This section provides additional sources to look for reviews.

Individual Publications

New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text from 1980 to the present on the ProQuest platform.
New York Times: ProQuest Historical Newspapers with Index This link opens in a new window
Full text of the New York Times for 1851-2017.

Film Comment
Access from 1962 to present.
The Atlantic
Access from 1983 to present. **Search the library catalog for print options before 1983.**
The New Yorker
Access from 1978 to present online. **Search the library catalog for print & microform options before 1978.**
New York Magazine
Access from 2005 to present.

Database Options

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Major U.S. and world news. Turn off popup blockers in browser and create an account to save searches and access additional features.
A user will be able to download 250 titles/headlines from the search results list at a time. Checking the box next to each search result allows users to download the full document. The system will allow downloading of 100 documents or 1,000 pages at a time. There are no overall total download limits.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications. Select limiters for News and Magazines to locate reviews.

From the Open Web

Rotten Tomatoes
Leading online aggregator of movie and TV show reviews from critics. Also offers interviews & news.
Movie Review Query Engine
Free website aggregating movie reviews from around the web.

Finding Full Text Journals & Periodicals (Video)
Watch this video to learn how to look up journals, magazines, and newspapers individually from a citation.

See the Industry & Labor page for access to trade publications.

See the Finding Primary Sources page for digitized historical magazines and trade publications.

See the Film databases available onsite or remotely with a library card from the New York Public Library.