Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Film & Television Industry Information
This page covers:
Lost? Not finding what you need? Ask a Librarian for assistance.
Industry & News Databases
Databases enable searching by keyword across many trade & business publications at once.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals. View the options under the Sources to limit your search to specific types (trade journals, magazines, scholarly journals, etc).
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for thousands of journals and other sources. Covers business, economics, management, accounting, etc.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides major U.S. and world news, business information, and legal information. **For best results, turn off pop-up blockers in your browser and create your own account with your Fordham email.** See Nexis Uni Training Videos
to learn how to use the database and search for specific types of content.
Selected Trade Publications
Some industry trade publications are magazines by subscription with web components, while others are standalone websites. Below is a sampling of magazine & web-based trade publications.
Google Tips for Searching Industry Websites
Searching for Industry Websites
- When using the open web to search for digital trade publications, check the "About" section to determine how the author or owner of a particular website is (or is not) connected to the film & television industry.
Using Google to Search the Content of an Industry Website
- Google's search capabilities can be used to search the contents of a website. Try the following steps in Chrome:
- Go to the address bar and type site search: [the url of the website you want to search] press the space bar then type your search terms and press Enter.
- Here is a sample search of the Fordham website for references to "public media":
- Google Scholar is preferred when searching for experts or research. It enables users to click on author links, see articles that cited an article, related articles, alternate versions, and full text access links (if available) on the right side.
- Google Scholar can include full text links to library content if you set up library links. To add Fordham, New York Public Library, or other options, try the following:
- Go to Google Scholar search page.
- Click on the menu button and then click Settings.
- Select Library links from the panel on the left.
- Next, search for Fordham University and add the two available options. You may add up to five libraries where you have access privileges.
404 Errors & Websites that No Longer Exist
- Copy & paste the website URL into the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine to see if an archived version of the page is available.
Film & Television Industry Books
Try the following Library of Congress Subject Headings to search for books by subject in the Library Catalog covering the film & television industry:
- Motion picture industry
- Motion pictures--Production and direction
- Television--Production and direction
Selected Labor Unions & Guilds
Diversity in the Industry
Looking for federal or state-based labor laws or regulations relating to the film & television industry? Documents from a court case?
Labor Information & Statistics
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Publishes authoritative data on labor in the U.S. Find the Occupational Outlook Handbook under the "Publications" drop down menu.
Provided by the U.S. Department of Labor to serve job seekers, businesses, students, and career advisors with a variety of free online tools, information and resources.
International Labor Organization
A United Nations agency whose mandate is to advance social and economic justice through setting international labor standards.
Government Industry Links for NY & CA
NYC -- Office of Media and Entertainment
Offers a range of NYC information for and about the film & television industry including a newsletter, permit information, film locations, funding opportunities, job listings, and more.
New York State -- Office of Motion Picture & Television Development (MPTV)
Offers tax credit information, grant opportunities, location galleries, directories of suppliers, data & reports, newsletters, and more.
California Film Commission
Provides resources covering film locations, permits, production resources, tax credit information, newsletters, and more.
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
email@example.com ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)