Research Guides @ Fordham: Film & Television Studies: Film & Video Collections

Film & Video Collections by Subscription

Individual records for film & video titles available in streaming format are not listed in the library catalog at the moment.

To see if Fordham has access to a streaming film or television program, you will need to search the databases below.

► Use the Library Catalog to search for film & TV options on DVD.

Walsh Library offers (1) workstation with a DVD player and headphones.

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
More than 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas and curated for the educational experience.
Should you get an error page when trying to access content on-campus or remotely, clear cache / cookies and / or try a different browser that has been cleared of cache / cookies.
Swank Motion Pictures Streaming Video Database This link opens in a new window
A collection of 500 films covering many subjects. Avoid using Safari browser with PCs.
Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
Thousands of videos of movies, documentaries, foreign films and more. Click more... to see current browser & technical issues.
CURRENT PROBLEM REPORTED WITH USING FIREFOX. CHROME AND OPERA WORKING NORMALLY.
AVOID USING MAC w/FIREFOX FOR ALL STREAMING VIDEOS (NEEDS SEPARATE FLASH DOWNLOAD).
DO NOT USE INTERNET EXPLORER
See also our new streaming video database, Academic Video Online, located on the A tab and Videos & Multimedia tab.
REMOTE USERS - NEW PROVIDER REQUIREMENTS: You may be prompted to authenticate via LOG IN TO FORDHAM button on left side of screen; on next screen you will be prompted to click LOG IN TO FORDHAM button again; click SKIP when prompted to create an account.

Requesting films inside Kanopy: Search inside Kanopy to see if Fordham currently has access to the item you need. Your search results will show items "In Collection" where Fordham currently pays for a license, and additional items under "Request Access." For items marked as "Request Access", Fordham faculty can complete the online form to request the library acquire a license to the film/video.

Docuseek On-Demand Videos This link opens in a new window
Access only to special-order videos with varying expiration dates. For any questions, contact Betty Garity (garity@fordham.edu). Click on Browse to see licensed titles.
CBS News 60 MINUTES This link opens in a new window
Offers transcripts and nearly 500 hours of video from 1997–2014 via ProQuest.

Open Access Film & Video Collections

American Archive of Public Broadcasting This link opens in a new window
A collaboration between the Library of Congress and the Boston public media producer WGBH offering a central web portal to access public programming from the past 70+ years.

Library of Congress Digital Film & Video Collections
Digitized film collections including items from the National Screening Room, National Film Registry, Variety Stage Sound Recordings and Motion Pictures, Early Films of New York, Origins of American Animation, Early Motion Pictures and Sound Recordings of the Edison Companies, the Civil Rights History Project, and more.
Moving Image Archive from the Internet Archive
A mixture of free movies, films, and videos from libraries and archives as well as content uploaded by users.
Moving Images -- Digital Public Library of America
Moving image search of collections at the Digital Public Library of America.

Indigenous Cinema Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains over 200 films by Indigenous Canadian directors via the National Film Board of Canada. Not all titles are available.

National Film Preservation Foundation Screening Room
Offers online access to selected films preserved by the National Film Preservation Foundation.
EUscreen
Offers free access to thousands of archival audiovisual items from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives.

Additional Resources & Links

Race Films: Getting Started
Guide featuring links and information about race films (created for Black audiences with all-Black casts) produced between the 1900s and 1960s from Mary Baldwin University.
Film/AV Collections of FIAF Affiliates Online
Links to free online streaming services around the world used by International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) affiliates to provide convenient access to their audiovisual collections.

For Faculty: Requesting Videos & Classroom Viewing

Academic libraries cannot provide access to commercial streaming services like Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime, Apple TV, etc.

Request Streaming Videos
Use this form to request a streaming film or video for your teaching or research. Not all films or videos are available to license in streaming format.
Best Practices for In-Class Viewing of Streaming Videos
See this page for best practices from our Electronic Resources department for managing in-class viewing of streaming videos.

Formatting Links for Sharing

Most streaming video platforms offer options to generate persistent links to share access to content with students via email or syllabi.

Copying & pasting a URL from your browser's address bar will not work at a later date for other users.

Look at the user interface to find options to generate permalinks. Here is an example from AVON:

On the top menu, click on Share.

Options will then appear to Copy Permalink (creates a web link) or Copy Embed Code (creates code to embed a video on a digital platform).

Film & Television Studies: Film & Video Collections

Film & Video Collections by Subscription

Open Access Film & Video Collections

Additional Resources & Links

For Faculty: Requesting Videos & Classroom Viewing

Formatting Links for Sharing

Reference & Instruction Department