OneSearch is Fordham University's centralized search database. It includes Fordham University's books and e-books, and some articles from other databases, but not all of them. It also includes bibliographic information of materials that Fordham does not own.
You can search in OneSearch directly from the library homepage:
OneSearch has many filters available, here are some of the most important:
The Full Text limiter will remove all physical items, and will only display electronic books and articles that Fordham has access to.
The Catalog Only limited will search for electronic books, physical books, and journal titles (not articles) that Fordham has access to.
The Peer Reviewed limited will search for electronic journal articles that have undergone the peer-review process, but will filter out any books and e-books, even if they have been peer reviewed.
Enterprise, the Library Catalog, allows you to search for books, e-books, and both print and electronic journal titles that Fordham University provides access to.
Searching in the Library Catalog:
You can search for "Everything," which searches the Library Catalog in addition to select Open Access resources and our OneSearch results.
You can also choose which field you would like to search within. In the example above, we are conducting a subject search with a Library of Congress Subject Heading related to biological sciences.
Item Record:
When you find an item that looks interesting, click the title, and it will present the item record.
Use the subject headings in your original results to find more ways to conduct your search. You can retry searches with the new subject headings you find.
This is also where you can locate citation information.
Field guides or manuals are tools for researchers to identify various species in the field. Species can include flowers, mammals, insects, and more.
To search for field guides in the catalog or OneSearch, try searching for these terms:
"Field guide" OR Manual OR Handbook OR Identification
And the type of species you want, like mammal, bird, or insect. You can also try searching by geographic location. Here are some sample searches:
Not sure how to start your search?
Here are some subject headings commonly used in biological sciences. For a comprehensive list, you can visit the Library of Congress Subject Headings Page.
Want to browse for books in the library?
Fordham University uses the Library of Congress Classification System. For more detailed information, check out the Library of Congress Classification Outline. Below are call number ranges for topics in biological sciences:
GF1-900 Human Ecology
QH1-705 Natural History
QH301-705 General Biology
QK1-989 Botany
QL1-991 Zoology
QM1-695 Human Anatomy
QR1-502 Microbiology
SB1-1110 Plant Culture
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)