Research Guides @ Fordham: Biological Sciences: Botany

Botany Reference Books

Plant Form by Adrian D. Bell; Alan Bryan (Illustrator)
Call Number: QK641 .B39 2008
Portland, Or. : Timber Press, 2008
Plant Systematics by Michael G. Simpson
Online Resource
Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier/Academic Press, 2006
Anatomy of Flowering Plants by Paula J. Rudall
Online Resource
Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2007
Reaching for the Sun by John King
Online Resource
Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2011

Botany Guides and Encyclopedias

Plant Names: A Guide to Botanical Nomenclature by R. Spencer (Editor); P. Lumley (Editor); Roger Spencer; R. Cross; P. F. Lumley
Call Number: QK96 .L75 2007
Melbourne : Royal Botanic Gardens, 2007
The Encyclopedia of Psychoactive Plants by Christian Rätsch; Albert Hofmann (Foreword by)
Call Number: QK99.A1 R2813 2005
Rochester, Vt. : Park Street Press, 2005
A Guide to Native Plants of the New York City Region by Margaret B. Gargiullo
Online Resource
New Brunswick, N.J. : Rivergate Books, 2007
Plants of the World: An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Vascular Plants by Maarten J. M. Christenhusz
Online Resource
Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2017

Popular Books on Botany

The Triumph of the Fungi by Nicholas P. Money
Call Number: SB733 .M59 2007
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007
Lives of Weeds: Opportunism, Resistance, Folly by John Cardina
Online Resource
Ithaca, NY : Cornell University Press, 2021
The Tanoak Tree by Frederica Bowcutt
Online Resource
Seattle : University of Washington Press, 2015

Botany Societies and Local Gardens

6BC
A small community garden located in Manhattan's East Village, this garden is open to the public. Those who are interested can become a participating member or volunteer.
American Horticultural Society
A non-profit national gardening association focused on raising awareness about gardening practices and the art of horticulture.
The Botanical Society of America
A group supporting breadth and diversity of botanical research and education.
Brooklyn Botanical Garden
Located near Prospect Park, this garden was founded more than a century ago. Home to the Flowering Cherry Collection which bloom in the early spring. Free during Winter Weekdays and through NYPL's Culture Pass.
International Association for Plant Taxonomy (IAPT)
IAPT is a non-profit organisation founded in 1950 to promote, support and facilitate taxonomic, systematic and nomenclatural research into algae, fungi and plants. It currently has nearly 1000 members, in many countries around the world.
New York Botanical Garden
A National Historic Landmark located in the Bronx (right next to Fordham!), encompassing 50 specialty gardens and housing over one million plants. Fordham students and faculty receive one free Grounds-Only pass per visit.
Queens Botanical Garden
Located in Flushing Meadows-Corona Park, this is a community driven park with missions of sustainability and environmental stewardship. Free admission November through March.
Snug Harbor Cultural Center and Botanical Garden
Located in Snug Harbor, Staten Island, the Cultural Center and Botanical Gardens has performing and visual arts programs, a working farm, and multiple garden collections. The Main Campus is free to visit; tickets can be purchased for the Chinese Scholar Garden and Connie Gretz Secret Garden.

Selected Botany Journals

Journal of Experimental Botany
Covers a range of disciplines from molecular and cellular physiology and biochemistry through whole plant physiology to community physiology.
Years available: 2009 - 2014
Annals of Botany
An international plant science journal that publishes novel and substantial research papers in all areas of plant science, along with reviews and shorter Botanical Briefings about topical issues
Years available: 1887 - Present
American Journal of Botany
Published by the Botanical Society of America, this is a monthly peer-reviewed scientific journal which covers all aspects of plant biology.
Years available: 1914 - Present
Environmental and Experimental Botany
Publishes research papers on the physical, chemical, biological, molecular mechanisms and processes involved in the responses of plants to their environment, as well as review articles.
Years available: 1995 - 2014
Botany
A monthly journal featuring research on plant sciences, including ecology, mycology, plant physiology, and cell and molecular biology. It also publishes review articles and current commentary on topics of interest.
Years available; 1998 - Present

Online Botany Collections, Libraries, and Databases

Agricola
Citation searching for the National Agricultural Library Catalog.
Botanical Society of American Online Image Collection
The digitized slide collection of the BSA, this online collection is organized into searchable categories.
CalPhotos: Plants
Over 372,300 images of plants from the University of California at Berkeley.
Flora of North America (FNA)
A beta version of a comprehensive database containing names, taxonomic relationships, continent-wide distributions, and morphological characteristics of all plants native and naturalized in North America (north of Mexico).
New York Metropolitan Flora Project
The NYMF is a multi-year effort from the Brooklyn Botanical Garden to document the flora in all counties with a 50-mile radius of New York City, including Long Island, southeastern New York State, and areas of New Jersey and Connecticut.
Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History Department of Botany Collections
Over 1.7 million specimen records (including over 113,000 type specimens with images) are currently available in this online catalog. It is the foundation of the National Herbarium.
USDA National Agricultural Library Digital Collections
The digital collections of the United States Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library.
USDA National Conservation Service PLANTS Database
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, onward Web links, and references.

Library of Congress Call Numbers - Botany

Library of Congress Call Numbers for Botany topics:

QK1-989 - Botany

QK1-474.5 - General
- QK91-97 - Classification
- QK101-474 - Geographical Distribution, Phytogeography
QK474-495 - Spermatophyta, Phanerogams
QK474-493 - Trees and Shrubs
QK494-494.5 - Gynosperms
QK495 - Angiosperms
QK504-638 - Crytogams
QK509-519.5 - Local
QK520-532 - Pteridophyta (Ferns, etc.)
QK532.4-563.7 - Bryophyta, Bryology
QK564-580.5 - Algae, Algology
QK580.7-597.5 - Lichens
QK600-638 - Fungi
QK640-707 - Plant Anatomy
QK710-899 - Plant Physiology
- QK746-791 - Chemical Agents Affecting Plants
- QK861-899 - Phytochemistry
QK900-989 - Plant Ecology
- QK930-938 - Physiographic Regions
- QK980-989 - Evolution of Plants (General)

SB1-1110 - Plant Culture

Biological Sciences: Botany

Botany Reference Books

Botany Guides and Encyclopedias

Popular Books on Botany

Botany Societies and Local Gardens

Selected Botany Journals

Online Botany Collections, Libraries, and Databases

Library of Congress Call Numbers - Botany

Reference & Instruction Department