Skip to main content
Fordham Libraries Home
Research Guides @ Fordham
Search this Guide
Research and reference sources in general biology, cell biology and ecology.
General Biology Reference Books
Botany Reference Books
Zoology Reference Books
Anatomy Reference Books
Microbiology Reference Books
Physiology Reference Books
Biosis Citation Index
Expansive index of life sciences covering topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology. Includes Biological Abstracts for journals with additional content from reviews, patents, books, symposiums and conferences.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
A resource providing access to biomedical and genomic information created by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Encyclopedia of Entomology, 2008
Springerlink. Articles on insects including taxonomy, behavior, ecology, physiology, history, and management. Includes over 1,100 illustrations and biographies of famous entomologists.
Encyclopedia of Life
Descriptions of every species known to science with a list of references to books and articles.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Wiley Online Library. Thousands of articles on biological sciences.
Encyclopedia of Microbiology, 3rd Edition
Indexing and abstracts of over 384,000 items on the human impact to the environment, as well as open access full text for nearly 5000.
Environmental Studies - Gale In Context (formerly GREENR)
Comprehensive resource on environmental topics that includes news, commentary, documents, conference reports, statistics, audio, video, images. Updated daily.
Hundreds of environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. Some full text.
Birds of North America Online
Detailed scientific information on the hundreds of species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada. Illustrated.
Scientific Style and Format Online
Council of Science Editors' flagship style manual online. The authoritative reference for all areas of science and related fields.
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
A non-profit organization dedicated to making scientific literature freely available by publishing a suite of influential Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine.
A large site that presents basic information about cell biology, microbiology, immunology, and microscopy.
Genes to Cognition Online
An excellent source for scientifically supported information on cognitive functions.
National Resources Defense Council
Expansive website of one of the largest environmental organizations in the world.
Provides accurate up to date biological information reported and edited by scientists.
National Invasive Species Information Center
From the National Library of Agriculture; includes an large assortment of information and links.
Spineless: the science of jellyfish and the art of growing a backbone
Call Number: QL377 .S4B47 2017
New York: Riverhead Books, 2017
Principles of Biology
Christina A. Crawford (Editor)
Call Number: RH Sci Ref QH307.2 .P75 2017
Ipswich, MA: Salem Press, 2017
Who We Are and How We Got Here: ancient DNA and the new science of the human past
Call Number: QH431 .R37 2018
New York: Pantheon Books, 2018
Cultivating nature: the conservation of a Valencian working landscape
Sarah R. Hamilton
Call Number: QH77 .S7H36 2018
Seattle: University of Washington Press, 2018
The Source: how rivers made America and America remade its rivers
Call Number: QH102 .D693 2018
Staying with the Trouble: making kin in the Chthulucene
Donna J. Haraway
Call Number: QL85 .H369 2016
Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 2016
Darwin and the Making of Sexual Selection
Call Number: QH31 .D2R45 2017
Chicago: University of Chicago, 2016
Life Through Time and Space
Call Number: QH325 .A724 2017
Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2017
Encyclopedia of Whales, Dolphins and Porpoises
Call Number: QL713.2 .H69 2017
Buffalo: Firefly Books, 2017
Insects: Their Natural History and Diversity, 2nd ed.
Call Number: +QL473 .M33 2017
Buffalo: Firefly Books, 2017
Walsh Library, Room 139
Rose Hill Campus
Lincoln Center Campus
Gerald Quinn Library
Citation And Style Guides
Middle East Studies
New York, New York
Nonprofit and Non-Governmental (NGO)
Politics and Government
Religion & Theology
Sociology & Social Services
Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
General Biology Reference Books >>
Sep 23, 2019 6:22 PM
Login to LibApps