Differentiated Instruction - Education - Just for Teachers - Research Guides @ Fordham at Fordham University Libraries

Carol Tomlinson and Differentiated Instruction

Carol Tomlinson is a leading expert in the field of differentiated instruction. Below is a list of texts written by Tomlinson available through the Fordham Libraries.

The Differentiated School by Carol Ann Tomlinson; Kay Brimijoin; Lane Narvaez
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781416606789
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Looking for advice and guidance on how to implement differentiated instruction throughout your school? Learn from the experts. Administrators and teachers alike will find viable ideas and answers to questions as leaders at two schools share milestones and vignettes from their real-life experiences in converting entire faculties to this dynamic approach to teaching and learning.
How to Differentiate Instruction in Mixed-Ability Classrooms by Carol A. Tomlinson
ISBN: 9780585415215
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
In this updated edition of an ASCD bestseller, youll learn proven ideas for how to match instructional approaches to the readiness, interests, and talents of all students: learning centers, hands-on activities, contracts, and investigative projects. Plus, read about new ways of structuring lessons to provide "scaffolds" for the lesson content, the procedures used in learning, and the products of learning.
Integrating Differentiated Instruction and Understanding by Design by Carol Ann Tomlinson; Jay McTighe
ISBN: 1416602844
Publication Date: 2013-04-12
Connecting content and kids in meaningful ways is what teachers strive to do every day. In tandem, UbD and DI help educators meet that goal by providing structures, tools, and guidance for developing curriculum and instruction that bring to students the best of what we know about effective teaching and learning.

Making Texts Accessible

Designing Usable Texts by Thomas Duffy (Editor); Robert Waller (Editor)
Call Number: LB3045.5.D47 1985
ISBN: 0122232607
Publication Date: 1985-04-01
Gives the theory behind making texts usable and emphasizes how this theory of understanding language can make texts usable and more accessible for students. The text evaluate the role of text structures and the role the typography of a text has when students are reading it.

Making texts accessible provides students with the opportunity to get the most out of what they are reading. The resources below are intended to provide you with strategies and ideas regarding the modification of texts for your students:

Differentiated Literacy Strategies for Student Growth and Achievement in Grades 7-12 by Gayle H. Gregory (Editor); Lin Kuzmich (Editor)
Call Number: LB1631.G685 2005 (Lincoln Center, Quinn Library)
ISBN: 0761988831
Publication Date: 2005-02-09
This practical guide is based on solid research that considers the diverse literacy needs of middle and high school students. Traditionally, teachers at this level have resisted lessons with differentiated approaches as too "elementary school." However, it has become increasingly clear that a one-size-fits-all lesson presentation to older students just does not work. Today, students in most middle and high school classrooms have differing learning styles, physical and intellectual abilities, cultural backgrounds, and ability to speak/read the English language.

What is Differentiated Instruction?

Differentiated Instruction and Implications for UDL

Differentiating instruction is the process of identifying areas in which your students need additional support and providing them with the scaffold they need. This section of the database provides resources in order to help you differentiated your instruction for all students in your classroom.

For ideas on how to differentiate instruction, visit TeachingChannel.org and use the search terms "differentiation." You may narrow your search by subject and grade level after completing this initial search.

Fordham Library Resources on Differentiated Instruction

Differentiating Instruction with Centers in the Inclusive Classroom by Laverne Warner; Judith Sower
Call Number: LB3044.8.S67 2011 (Lincoln Center, Quinn Library)
ISBN: 9781593637156
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
Planning and organizing differentiated activities for the inclusive classroom is a challenge for any teacher, whether novice or experienced. "Differentiating Instruction With Centers in the Inclusive Classroom" helps primary teachers create exciting and motivating classroom centers that are perfect for learners of all ability levels. The easy-to-set-up centers in this book teach children social skills and also help them practice important academic skills. Each center is designed to be adapted to prekindergarten through second grade inclusion classrooms. Themes covered in the centers include archaeology, camping, farms and farm supply, amusement parks, offices, a travel agency, and many more. The book also describes inexpensive approaches to preparing and storing centers from year to year and provides assessment and observation forms for teacher use.
Curriculum Mapping for Differentiated Instruction, K-8 by Janice L. Yost; Michelle A. Langa
Call Number: LB2806.15.L36 2007 (Lincoln Center, Quinn Library)
ISBN: 1412914957
Publication Date: 2006-10-13
From curriculum mapping, the authors guide teachers through:

• Use of standards and rubrics for the development of interdisciplinary units and lessons

• Analysis of students' learning styles and needs

• Development of differentiated content, process, products, and homework

The authors' teacher-friendly framework for blending curriculum mapping with differentiated instruction ensures a student-centered classroom, and their "Teachers' Tool Chests" offer planning templates and task cards for the sample lessons and units in the book.

Graphic Organizers for All Grades and Subjects

Graphic ogranizers can be useful scaffolds for students. However, when constructin graphic organizers, it is advised that the graphic organizers align to the standards you are hoping students will meet and to Bloom's taxonomy. As a means to differentiate instruction, giving students the choice to use a specific graphic organizer will allow them to be responsible for their own learning.

Below are resources from the Fordham Library catalog that can help you produce graphic organizers for your classroom.

The Elementary Teacher's Big Book of Graphic Organizers, K-5 by Katherine S. McKnight
ISBN: 9781118420188
Publication Date: 2013-02-28
100 ready-to-use graphic organizers that help elementary students learn Graphic organizers are a powerful metacognitive teaching and learning tool and this book features 100 graphic organizers for teachers in grades K-5--double the number of any other book on the market. These graphic organizers can be used as before learning, during learning, or after learning activities, and support students' learning in the major content areas: English language arts, science, social studies, and mathematics. Teachers can use each graphic organizer as-is or customize for their own classroom's unique needs. Tips for classroom implementation and information on how the tool supports learning A Difficulty Dial that indicates the complexity of each graphic organizer Two Student Samples demonstrating how the organizer may be used with younger and older students This book gives teachers in grades K-5 a powerful way to help students understand relationships between facts, terms, and ideas.
Differentiating with Graphic Organizers by Patti Drapeau
Call Number: LB1044.88 .D73 2009
ISBN: 9781412959759
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
Drapeau is a teachers teacher. This book is guaranteed to elevate student thinking while addressing the needs of individual learners at all skill levels. It′s all here and ready to go, along with sound research for support′ - Pamela Lester, Enrichment Teacher Clinton Township School District, Lebanon, NJ ′Graphic organizers, differentiated instruction, and creative and critical thinking--three topics on the frontline of teaching today, all together in one well-crafted text. This exciting book will not stay on the bookshelf; teachers will try the sample lessons and use and modify the graphic organizers to improve their practice and the achievement of their students′ - Karen Shible, Reading Specialist Meachem Elementary School, Syracuse, NY Use graphic organizers to challenge students, make learning exciting, and raise academic achievement! Graphic organizers have proven to be successful tools for helping students more readily understand and retain information. This research-based resource shows how graphic organizers can improve teaching practices, help differentiate instruction in the classroom, and raise learning outcomes for all students, including English language learners and students with learning disabilities. The author presents graphic organizers for nine types of thinking processes based on Bloom′s taxonomy and offers examples of how to apply the graphic organizers in different subject areas and grade levels. This hands-on guide demonstrates how teachers can: - promote the critical thinking processes of assuming, inferring, analyzing, prioritizing, and judging - encourage the creative thinking processes of brainstorming, connecting, creating, and elaborating - modify graphic organizers or create their own to meet individual learning needs. Differentiating With Graphic Organizers addresses ways to promote and build students′ creative reasoning, communication, and problem-solving skills and make the learning process a success.
A Guide to Graphic Organizers by James Bellanca
Call Number: LB1044.88 .B45 2007
ISBN: 9781412952996
Publication Date: 2007-06-08
Using Graphic Organizers to Increase Learning: A Step by Step Guide, Second Edition offers teachers of all grade levels and content areas a collection of 24 ready-to-use graphic organizers to help students organize their thinking, process content, and work cooperatively. In the bookÆs first section, each graphic organizer is featured in its own chapter, providing:A lesson for introducing the organizer to studentsIdeas for using the organizer in different subject areas and grade levelsTips for using the organizer to maximize student learningThe second section provides strategies for using graphic organizers with cooperative learning groups, exploration of the role of graphic organizers in developing thinking processes, and suggestions for using them as assessment tools. This revised edition has been updated with current research, several new graphic organizers, a streamlined format, and an expanded collection of examples.

Universal Design for Learning

According to CAST.org, "Universal Design for Learning is a set of principles for curriculum development that give all individuals equal opportunities to learn. UDL provides a blueprint for creating instructional goals, methods, materials, and assessments that work for everyone--not a single, one-size-fits-all solution but rather flexible approaches that can be customized and adjusted for individual needs."

For examples and resources of how to implement UDL, go to the CAST website for more information.

A .PDF file of UDL guidelines is available for downloading below.

UDL Guidelines
UDL Checklist for Teachers
The following checklist can be used as a guideline for teachers as they check to see what criteria their lessons meet according to the standards of UDL.

Modifying Primary Documents

Modifying Primary Sources is essential to ensuring students are able to understand the texts which they are reading. By providing the appropriate scaffolds, both within the text itself and through the use of graphic organizers, students are better able to analyze and evaluate primary source documents and engage in genuine thinking.

TeachingHistory.org is one website that guide students through the process of modifying primary source documents for students.

Education - Just for Teachers: Differentiated Instruction